New Anticipated Percy Jackson Book Just Dropped

The new and awaited Percy Jackson book was released on September 26th. Come read what we know about the book so far!

Adaptations Book Culture Book News Pop Culture Recommendations Young Adult
Rick Riordan with Leah Jeffries, Walker Scobell, and Aryan Simhadri next to the cover of Chalice of the Gods with a snake and a goblet on the front.

It was announced earlier this year, in 2023, that Rick Riordan, author of the popular Percy Jackson series, would be adding another book to the collection of works featuring the titular character. The book, which was released on September 26th, 2023, features Percy Jackson in his senior year of high school as he prepares for college. The book also features the original trio from the series, with Annabeth Chase and Grover Underwood joining Percy for his latest adventure.

The Plot

The book, entitled Chalice of the Gods, features Percy, who has to fulfill three quests to get letters of recommendation from Mount Olympus. As we know from previous works, the gods can never willingly help and always need a favor returned. Cue Percy, Annabeth, and Grover, who must finish the quests in order to get Percy’s recommendations. One of the quests includes retrieving a goblet before it falls into the wrong hands, or else the trio will have to save the world (again).

Chalice of the Gods cover with a goblet containing greek carvings, a snake, and birds on the cover.

How It Came to Be

The book was revealed to be in the works after the popularity surrounding the series rose from the newly-adapted TV show. The TV show, which will be on Disney+, has released numerous trailers, casting lists, and sneak peeks is set to release on December 20th, 2023. The cast list includes Walker Scobell, Leah Jeffries, and Aryan Simhadri, who will be playing the trio in the show. The teaser for the TV show can be found here.

Percy Jackson TV show featuring Leah Jeffries in a jacket, Walker Scobell in a flannel, and Aryan Simhadri in a blue jacket.

While waiting for the TV show to drop, you can order the new book now on multiple websites, including Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Books-A-Million.

A Bit of Backstory on the Series

For those who are unaware, the series follows the character Percy Jackson, who has grown up a troubled kid. He’s been kicked out of multiple schools, has dyslexia, and has always had strange things happen to him. Soon, he discovers the answers to all the questions he’s wondered about his whole life: he’s a demigod. He’s half Greek god and half-human, and he’s quickly thrust into a world of myths and stories, death and danger, especially when he finds out that the gods think he’s stolen something precious to them — Zeus’s lightning bolt. He must recover the bolt and prove his innocence or die trying.

Percy Jackson and The Lightning Thief cover with a Greek helmet, a lightning bolt, and a trident.

The Percy Jackson universe series features over ten books, and many more in which Percy Jackson and his friends make appearances. The first series is Percy Jackson and The Olympians. The second series, which still features Percy, Annabeth, and Grover, introduces a whole new cast of demigods and is called The Heroes of Olympus. Chalice of the Gods takes place after the events of The Heroes of Olympus but before The Trials of Apollo, where Jackson makes a few appearances.

If you love Percy Jackson and his adventures as much as we do, consider buying the new book or watching the trailer for the TV show!

For more articles on Percy Jackson, click here.