10 Brilliant Emerging Writers At The 2022 Whiting Awards

Take a look at the 2022 Whiting Awards list of emerging writers—here are the ten that made the list.

Author's Corner Upcoming Authors
2022 Whiting Awards collage

The 2022 Whiting Awards celebrated ten distinct emerging writers in early April. Since its inception in 1985, the Whiting Foundation has gifted generous awards and fellowships to emerging writers in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and drama. The recipients of the Whiting Awards receive a $50,000 grant which allows them “to devote themselves fully to writing, and the recognition has a significant impact.” Past winners include Ocean Vuong, Mary Karr, and Li-Young Lee.

Here are the ten brilliant winners of the 2022 Whiting Awards:

Claire Boyles in Fiction

Rita Bullwinkel in Fiction

Ina Cariño in Poetry

Anthony Cody in Poetry

Anaïs Duplan in Nonfiction

Alexis Pauline Gumbs in Nonfiction

Megha Majumdar in Fiction

Jesse McCarthy in Nonfiction

Nana Nkweti in Fiction

Claire Schwartz in Poetry

For more similar articles, click here.

Featured Image Via Alexis Sukia Ikbal-Doucet / Beowulf Sheehan / The Whiting Foundation