Stay Warm This Season With These 6 Spicy Books!

Looking for some books to read at the dinner table that won’t attract the attention of your family? Read on for 6 discreetly spicy reads!

Book Culture Bookish Trends Fantasy Recommendations Romance
Two files, one says "Naughty" in red and the second says "Nice" in green.

Discreet covers have become a popular trend in the book industry. Rather than clearly indicate a romance with a shirtless picture of Fabio, books of all genres now have cute and innocent covers. While this has led some to accidentally surprise their grandmas, the trend is much appreciated as it allows book lovers to maintain a little privacy. So, if you’re looking for a read to keep you warm, keep reading to learn more about six discreetly spicy books!

Note: Spice levels are different for everybody. While these books are all considered spicy, what one person considers spicy may not even register on your scale.

TW: These books contain material that is potentially triggering for some readers. Read with caution.

City of Thorns by C.N. Crawford

CW: Death of parent, Death, Injury/Injury detail, Panic attacks/disorders, Sexual content, Sexual harassment, Fire/Fire injury, Gore, Mental illness, Stalking, Torture, Xenophobia, Classism, Misogyny, and Suicidal thoughts.

A golden skeleton key against a black background with red and gold roses with "City of Thorns" written across the center in gold text.
IMAGE VIA BOOKSHOP

Happy birthday to me.

When the Lord of Chaos crashes my party, confusing me for my succubus doppelgänger, he throws me in the dungeon. But when he tastes my mortal blood, we realize we both crave revenge. He’ll help me find my mom’s killer, and I’ll help him sweet vengeance. I just have to pose as my succubus lookalike. As he teaches me the art of seduction, I fall under his seductive spell.

There’s just one problem…he’s my number one suspect.

Perfect for fans of Laura Thalassa.

The Roommate by Rosie Danan

CW: Slut shaming, car accident, blackmail.

"The Roommate" written in neon pink cursive set against a pink background with white hearts and a green couch in the center. A man sits on the right and looks at the woman on the left side as she reads a book.
IMAGE VIA BOOKSHOP

After a bait-and-switch courtesy of Clara’s cross-country crush, she winds up in a shared lease with complete stranger, Josh. Things were great at first; house rules were established, and Josh isn’t bad on the eyes. But what could have been goes up in flames after Clara discovers that Josh has made a name for himself on the internet and could bring ruin to her infamous elite family back home. But with Josh’s prowess, Clara realizes she’s found someone to combat an issue plaguing women everywhere.

Perfect for fans of A Merry Little Meet Cute by Sierra Simone and Julie Murphy.

Butcher & Blackbird by Brynne Weaver

CW: Full list of warnings can be found on the author’s website here.

"Butcher & Blackbird" in white text set against a pink banner that is held by two birds. Pink and purple symbols of bones, skulls, chainsaws, and knives are set against a black background. Two pink people are positioned in front on top of pink buildings.
IMAGE VIA BOOKSHOP

When Sloane and Rowan, two like-minded, pitch-black souls, meet, a friendship sparks to life. As they travel across the country, engaging in their hobby of killing serial killers, their friendship develops into something more. But the restless ghosts they leave behind are eager for revenge. Will Rowan and Sloane dig themselves out, or have they finally met their match?

May be perfect for fans of Haunting Adeline by H.D. Carlton.

Blood Moon Sanctum by Zian Schafer

CW: Death, violence, blood, gore and sex, Groping, Poverty, Thoughts of suicide, Self-harm, Alluding to a miscarriage.

"Blood Moon Sanctum" is written in white text across a red background. Black swirls outline the edges, two white swords are centered at the bottom. Two crescent moons are centered at the top and bottom.
IMAGE VIA AMAZON

“The princess that will bring the gods back,” they claim.

As war rages and alliances form, every King wants Princess Devereux. Some want her heart on a platter, and others want a ring on her finger. To stop the prophecy hanging over her since birth, she sets out to find the witch who cursed her and hid until the prophecy passes. Running was easy; dabbling with the black market had its benefits, but getting rid of the curse seems to be a fallacy. Her search brings her to the possession of a book. But some books aren’t meant to be read. And some doors aren’t meant to be unlocked. Because once he’s out, he’s not going back. And who knows what monsters crawled out with him.

May be perfect for fans of From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Things We Never Got Over by Lucy Score

TW: Child abuse & neglect, domestic abuse & violence recounted, parent with a substance addiction, death of a parent, off-page, gun violence, kidnapping.

"Things We Never Got Over" written in dark blue paint on a light blue background with dandelions scattered around the text.
IMAGE VIA BOOKSHOP

Naomi, a runaway bride under the guise of a helpful older sister, is left stranded in the rough-around-the-edges town of Knockemout by the sister she was trying to help. What’s more, she’s left guardian to an 11-year-old niece she never knew she had. In a town that settles it’s disputes with fists and beer — in that order — Naomi is in over her head.

After watching Naomi’s life implode right in front of him, bearded bad-boy Knox offers to help her get back on her feet. And as soon as she stops getting herself into trouble, he’s back to his solitary, no-high-maintenance life. Well, that was the plan until trouble turned into life-threatening danger.

Perfect for fans of Life’s Too Short by Abby Jimenez and Reminders of Him by Colleen Hoover.

Lightlark by Alex Aster

CW: manipulation, parental abuse, blood / slight violence. 

"Lightlark" in gold text against a black background. Gold spirals are in each corner with a heart-shaped rose in the center of the cover.
IMAGE VIA BOOKSHOP

Every 100 years, the island of Lightlark hosts the Centennial, a game designed for the rulers of the six realms to play to win a chance to break their realm’s curse.

Isla Crown is the young ruler of Wildling — a land of temptresses cursed to kill anyone they fall in love with. Her people are all counting on her to win this year’s Centennial and break their curse. To survive, she must lie, cheat, and betray…even as love complicates everything.

Perfect for fans of Marie Lu, Marissa Meyer, and Leigh Bardugo.


For more romance recs, click here to visit our Bookshop store!

Click here to explore the most popular romances of 2023!

FEATURED IMAGE VIA CANVA