5 Books Recommendations if You Enjoyed ‘The Hobbit’

If you loved The Hobbit: The Desolation of The Smaug or anything Hobbit related, then these fantasy recommendations are for you.

Adaptations Fantasy Pop Culture Recommendations TV & Movies Young Adult

Since its movie debut, The Hobbit: The Desolation of The Smaug, Tolkien’s fantasy world continued to evolve. But as Tolkien’s fantasy world expanded the horizons of readers, it also expanded the horizons of authors. Have you ever read a really amazing book that sucked you in, completely? Like you felt drawn in by the world itself, not just the sassy characters? But then after finishing the book, you couldn’t find another like it? I have been there.

When you read a fantasy world so well built, it’s then often a struggle to find another that pulls you in and enchants you. But I’ve got some recommendations for you if you’re looking for something similar to The Hobbit: The Desolation of The Smaug.

1. Eragon: The Inheritance Cycle

by Christopher Paolini

Eragon: The Inheritance Cycle--book cover-- 5 Books Recommendations if You Enjoyed 'The Hobbit'-- fantasy read
Image via Amazon.com

There wouldn’t be words to describe how amazing it would be if every stone a little boy or girl picked up, turned out to be a dragon hatchling. Picking up a blue stone only for it to turn into a dragon hatchling is exactly what fifteen-year-old Eragon soon realizes. His lucky discovery thrusts him into an adventure of a lifetime, as he is gifted with an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and some advice from an old storyteller.

2. Alanna: The First Adventure

by Tamora Pierce

Alanna: The First Adventure-- book cover
Image via Amazon.com

Set in the world of Tortall, young Alanna is determined to break the boundaries set upon her birth. Alanna desires with all her heart to be a knight of the realm, but in order to be considered for the training she will have to take her twin brother’s place in training. Filled with secrecy, sorcery, weapon training, combat, and adventure, Alanna: The First Adventure is the perfect read for any reader looking for an unconventional fantasy with a sassy heroine.

3. The Dyerville Tales

by M.P. Kozlowsky

The Dyerville Tales-- book cover
Image via Amazon.com

Blurring the lines between fairytales and reality, The Dyerville Tales, for middle schoolers, follows Vince Elgin. With only a senile grandfather available after losing his father and mother in a fire as a young boy, Vince is placed in a group home. But when his grandfather dies, Vince runs away, believing he will find his father at the funeral, only to find himself encountering magic that he has read from his grandfather’s journal.

4. Falling Kingdoms

by Morgan Rhodes

Falling Kingdoms-- book cover
Image via Amazon.com

Murder tears Princess Cleo of Mytica’s kingdom apart. She has to fight to claim her rightful place as Queen. Magnus, son of King Limeros, must plan each step with sharpness and shrewdness to earn his father’s trust. His sister, Lucia, learns a terrifying secret about her heritage that will change everything.

Jonas on the other hand lashes out at the oppressive forces keeping his kingdom cruelly impoverished. But witches, if found out are put to death and the immortal watchers are all but completely forgotten. A vicious power struggle that quickly escalates into war can also crown a ruler just as easily when magic is involved in these Falling Kingdoms.

5. Furthermore

by Tahereh Mafi

Furthermore-- book cover
Image via Amazon.com

Furthermore, is a story of the love for family and adventure as a young Alice goes on an adventure to find her father. It’s a fantasy story that is sure to thrill readers that adored Alice in Wonderland. Follow Alice through the land of Furthermore where the paper is alive, down can be up, and left can be right and very, very wrong.


Did our list of recommendations help? If you’ve already read our recommendations and are looking for something else, click here! Or if you’re looking for holiday recommendations, click here!

FEATURED IMAGE VIA BOOKSTR/ALLIE WADSWORTH