If You Like Johnny Appleseed, Here Are Five Children’s Books

Celebrate Johnny Appleseed and the many children stories retold. To commemorate today’s special day in honoring him, here are five children’s books that have themes of apples and the fall season.

Book Culture Fiction Recommendations Young Readers

Johnny Appleseed, also known as John Chapman, was an American missionary nurseryman. He helped in the North American frontier. He helped supply 19th-century pioneers with an apple tree inventory, he made a profit on the apple seedlings. There are many children’s books about this man. Here are five similar children’s books I recommend that have themes of apples, fall, and such.

How Do Apples Grow by Betsy Maestro

IMAGE VIA ABE BOOKS

Find out how apples grow from the flower bud to the flourish of fruit. Let’s Lead and Find Out Science is a book segment Maestro created. This children’s book is the winner of the American Association for the Advancement of Science/ Subaru Science Books & films Prize for Oustanding Science Series. This is a great book to educate youth on apples.

Leaf Man Lois Ehlert

IMAGE VIA DRAKE UNIVERSITY

Fall is here and the wind is moving leaf man east and west; above orchards, meadows, ducks, and geese. Wherever the wind blows, the illustrations are out of actual fall leaves. This children’s book has fun facts about identifying leaves. Nature through the perspective of a child’s eyes. Watch the leaves move in this book.

The Seasons of Arnold’s Apple Tree by Gail Gibbons

Johnny Appleseed
IMAGE VIA AMAZON

The bright illustrations in this children’s book showcase the changing of seasons an apple tree goes through. The child’s point of view is Arnold, who goes and visits the tree. In the spring Arnold collects apples, in the summer he builds a treehouse, Arnold makes delicious apple cider in the fall and hangs decorations on the tree in the winter.

Rain Makes Applesauce Julian Scheer

Johnny Appleseed
IMAGE VIA AMAZON

Scheer uses silly poetic talk in a fun way for children. With sly subtle messages with intricate pictures with new meanings. If you want a poetic mystery for children to parse through over and over again, let children discover the fun in finding meaning in word with this piece.

Hibernation Station by Michelle Meadows

Johnny Appleseed
IMAGE VIA BOOK THE SHELF TEACHER

All aboard! The hibernation station is waiting to introduce children to several kinds of animals and creatures that hibernate. View the illustrations as many creatures snuggle on this train. Some include chipmunks, bears, groundhogs, turtles, mice, bats, and more!

If you want to find out more about Johnny Appleseed go to Bookstr!

FEATURED IMAGE VIA CANVA