Celebrating 15 Years of The Name of the Wind

The Name of the Wind captured readers by storm when it first debuted. Patrick Rothfuss became the face of epic fantasy. Today, his celebrated novel turns 15!

Book Culture Fantasy On This Day Recommendations

The epic fantasy genre has been adored by readers worldwide for decades with novels like J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings and C.S. Lewis’ The Chronicles of Narnia. Imaginary worlds have taken up our minds in the best way possible. These novels provide us with an escape from reality and a magical journey to follow brave heroes on extraordinary quests. With great love for this sub-genre, we would like to highlight one of our favorite fantasy writers, Patrick Rothfuss. The genre continues to dominate the literary world, and we know why. Today, we celebrate the 15th anniversary of The Name of The Wind by Patrick Rothfuss.


The Name of The Wind : A Legacy Follows

The Name of The Wind, also known as The Kingkiller Chronicle: Day One, was first published on March 27th, 2007. Rothfuss won the Quill Award for Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror in 2007 and The Reading List award for fantasy in 2008 for his debut fantasy novel. Since then, he released a follow-up with The Wise Man’s Fear which, like the first, made the New York Times Bestseller list. The third and final installment of The Kingkiller Chronicle series, The Doors of Stone, is set to release in July 2022. Rothfuss has made a name for himself in the epic fantasy world. He wrote one of the most beloved fantasy novels of our time. The story begins with the tale of Kvothe.

The synopsis is as follows,

“So begins the tale of Kvothe—from his childhood in a troupe of traveling players to years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-riddled city, to his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a difficult and dangerous school of magic. In these pages, you will come to know Kvothe as a notorious magician, an accomplished thief, a masterful musician, and an infamous assassin. But The Name of the Wind is so much more—for the story it tells reveals the truth behind Kvothe’s legend.”

Many epic fantasy novels indulge in the magic of one’s journey, but they also focus on triumph over defeat. In this tale, Kvothe experiences horrific events in his childhood and a loss in his family, but it ultimately drives him to persevere. It is no wonder why the novel is critically acclaimed and celebrated by fantasy readers everywhere.


Patrick Rothfuss

The epic fantasy author, Patrick Rothfuss, grew up in Madison, Wisconsin. His parents encouraged his creative endeavors in reading and writing. He attended the University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point, where he jumped from major to major before landing on English. Additionally, he started writing The Name of the Wind in college. Although, he and his friends would often call it ‘The Book.’ While disguising the novel as a short story, Rothfuss submitted a chapter of the book to the Writers of the Future competition. He ended up winning the competition in 2002. He met with agents from DAW Books who agreed to publish it. They split the book into the three installments we know and love today.

The American writer created a charity fundraiser in 2010 called Worldbuilders that works to “harness the enthusiasm and kindness of the geek community.” After his debut novel’s release, Rothfuss gained a large following. He utilized his popularity and founded the organization to fund education, opportunity, and sustainable self-sufficiency for families and communities. If you’re interested in learning more or how to help, follow their page.

Whether you’re an avid reader of epic fantasy or looking for something new, pick up a copy of The Name of The Wind to celebrate its 15th anniversary with us at Bookstr!

To celebrate more fantasy authors, keep reading here.