5 Pirate Novels In Honor Of ‘Our Flag Means Death’ Season 2

HBO Max recently announced the return of ‘Our Flag Means Death.’ So to celebrate, heres some pirate novels to hold you over until the premiere of season two.

Fandom Fiction Historical Fiction Just For Fun Pop Culture Recommendations Romance Young Adult

‘Our Flag Means Death’ is a show that took the world by storm. The flamboyant romantic comedy stars and is directed by Taika Watiti as the terrifying Blackbeard and Rhys Darby as Stede Bonnet, an eccentric man who wants to be a pirate. The entirety of the first season is set around the budding love story of these two total opposites, and the ending left viewers and fans wanting more. And so, in honor of the announcement of season two, heres a few novels that will help you pass the time until the premiere.

Daughter of the Deep by Lin C. Amarego


This first book in The Children of Lyr series, it follows Keira, the first mate of a legendary pirate-ship, a girl blessed by the sea-god Lyr and the heir to her clan. She is given a choice of marrying the enemy, a boy of the clan they she feuds with (enemies-to-lovers) or watching her family be killed, and she is set on not allowing that to happen. But, her father’s death is still shrouded in secrecy and as the relationship between Keira and her childhood friend and now-enemy, Ronan, begins to grow, the secrets only grow thicker.

All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace


The first book in the All the Stars and Teeth Duology, it follows the main protagonist Amora, who is to be the next High Animancer. Or, in other words, the master of souls. And as heir to the throne, she must prove she can control the power. But, when things go wrong, she is forced to flee and joins Bastian on the deal that he’ll help prove she’s fit to rule if she’ll help him reclaim his stolen magic. But the world around them proves to be dangerous and full of wonder and it is up to them to decide if they are up for the challenge.

The Mermaid, The Witch and The Sea by Maggie Tokuda-Hall


Florian, born Flora, does what it takes to survive. A desperate orphan turned pirate, they have found their place on the seas. But when they meet Lady Evelyn Hasegawa as she travels to her arranged marriage, everything changes. Both characters have lived a life of lies and as they fall in love, they begin to realize they can grasp their own fate–and are willing to at whatever cost. A story of magic, self-discovery and magical creatures, Tokuda-Hall’s debut will have you rooting for these characters trying to find themselves in the middle of a tumultous sea.

Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller


(A very popular BookTok book by the way) This story following Alosa is one filled with once again, more enemies-to-lovers. The captain of her own ship, she allows herself to be taken captive by her enemies in an effort to find an ancient map. Now, the only thing that stands between her and what she wants is the first-mate Riden, who is clever and attractive. But she’s the daughter of the pirate king, what could go wrong?

In Deeper Waters by F.T Lukens


This charming novel follows Tal, a young prince on his coming-of-age tour and Athlen, who was kidnapped by Tal’s ship and holds many secrets. But, when Tal is kidnapped and war is on the horizon because of the princes hidden powers, Athlen may be the only one who can save the prince and the world around them.

Here’s to the next season of ‘Our Flag Means Death’! Happy reading (or watching Season One on HBO Max)!