10 Books To Read If You Like HBO’s Euphoria

Like the show Euphoria? Then these books might just be your next perfect read. Here are 10 books with similar themes to the popular HBO show.

Diversity Fandom Fiction LGBTQIA+ Reads Pop Culture Recommendations TV & Movies


If you know the names Zendaya, Hunter Schafer, and Sydney Sweeney, chances are you have heard of Euphoria. The aforementioned are just some of the incredibly talented cast of the HBO show, which is currently airing its second season. 

Euphoria centers around a group of high-school students and their journeys with addiction, sexuality, and relationship dynamics. Although the show has received some criticism for bad writing and excessive nudity, it has still amassed a large fanbase. 

TW: Euphoria is a very heavy show that deals with series topics, such as drug addiction. Many of these novels include similar themes and have other triggering topics such as self-harm and abuse. While we recommend these reads if you are comfortable with these topics, please be mindful of your own comfortability and mental health when considering reading these books. 

IMAGE VIA NYLON

Unbroken Brain: A Revolutionary New Way of Understanding Addiction By Maia Szalavitz

IMAGE VIA AMAZON

This book serves to break down and discuss misconceptions about drug addiction. Topics include: why there is no single treatment that works for everyone, the drug addiction spectrum, and how outside sources can affect recovery. Through reading this book, it might be easier to understand Zendaya’s character, Rue, and why she acts the way she does. 

I Wish You All the Best By Mason Deaver

IMAGE VIA AMAZON

Ben is De Backer kicked out of their house after coming out as non-binary. Ben, who has an anxiety disorder, begins to attend a new school and meets Nathan Allan. The two begin to form a bond. This book mirrors the complex, diverse relationships shown on Euphoria and explores sexuality and gender identity. 

Hello Girls By Brittany Cavallaro & Emily Henry

IMAGE VIA AMAZON

Two teenage girls need a way to escape the controlling men in their life. After Winona and Lucille meet, outside of a police station of all places, they decide to take a stolen convertible to Chicago. What could go wrong? Winona and Lucille’s quick bond is reminiscent of Rue and Jules (Schafer’s character) and *spoiler alert* their getaway-car-situation reminds readers of Rue and Jules’ train station fiasco at the end of season one.

Girl in Pieces By Kathleen Glasglow

IMAGE VIA AMAZON

Girl in Pieces centers around Charlie Davis and her road to recovery from self-harm. During her time in treatment, Davis meets other women who deal with issues such as alcoholism, homelessness, and addiction. Warning: This book can be graphic at times.

Clean By Amy Reed

IMAGE VIA AMAZON

Clean is about five teens in rehab. None of them want to be there, but they know they will have to face their issues in order to find hope. The novel features multiple narrators and shows how being an addict can affect the small moments in life, alongside the larger ones. 

Full Disclosure By Camryn Garrett

IMAGE VIA AMAZON

Life is complicated for Simone Garcia-Hampton, an HIV-positive teen who desperately wants to keep her diagnosis a secret at her new school. When she receives an anonymous note in her locker saying ‘I know you have HIV’, Simone must decide how to react. Will she attempt to keep her secret under wraps or use the situation to educate her community on the prejudice she has been facing. If you like Euphoria’s diversity and usage of secrets to further the plot, then Full Disclosure might just be your next read. 

The Revolution Of Birdie Randolph By Brandy Colbert

IMAGE VIA AMAZON

Birdie is on track to achieving her parent’s idea of her perfect life… until she meets Booker and falls hard. As tensions and secrets begin to rise, Birdie must learn to grapple with family drama and figure out what she truly wants.

Radio Silence By Alice Oseman

IMAGE VIA AMAZON

Frances will let nothing stop her from achieving academic success, not even her true identity. However, when she forms a new bond and gets a taste of freedom, she realizes she must confront her past to truly be herself. With storylines of diversity and identity, the book shares some key themes with Euphoria. 

Heroine By Mindy McGinnis

IMAGE VIA AMAZON

Heroine is about Mickey, a 17-year-old girl that gets injured in a car accident. Desperate to heal before her high school softball season, Mickey begins abusing opiates. Similar to storylines on Euphoria, Mickey’s actions affect her relationships with those around her. 

You Asked For Perfect By Laura Silverman

IMAGE VIA AMAZON

Ariel Stone has worked really hard to be the perfect college applicant. When his grades begin to slide he begins meeting with a boy named Amir for tutoring. When feelings start to develop, Ariel is not sure he can handle all of the pressure.

For more book recommendations, click here!

FEATURED IMAGE VIA ROTTEN TOMATOES AND CANVA