YA literature

Enter To Win: Our YA Thriller Summer Giveaway Is Here

Summer has set in, in all its halcyon glory. It’s the perfect time to pick up a new read and head to the beach or the park, lounge by the pool in your backyard, or simply laze by your window – whatever floats your boat! And what better than to perk up a warm, lazy afternoon with an exciting, dark twist?

Move over stereotypical boy meets girl YA romance; it’s time for summer goosebumps and a chilling YA thriller. And to make things even more exciting here’s another summer giveaway hosted by Sourcebooks. This summer giveaway includes gripping reads and the perfect bookish merch for every YA thriller fan. Are you ready for a truly chilling summer?

Here’s What you can win

5 YA thriller books to spice up your summer days

1 murder mystery jigsaw puzzle & 1 murder mystery game  to indulge in with your friends on warm, summer nights

A spine & skull scented candle set for the perfect gothic ambience, and spooky decor

Unique devil’s hand bookmarks to style up your bookshelves

A skeleton tote bag, perfect for coffee lovers

 

enter to win

YA KILLER THRILLER GIVEAWAY! (Contest on Hive.co)

 

about the BOOKs  

 

14 ways to die by vincent ralph

A page-turning thriller for the social media age, 14 Ways To Die is perfect for fans of A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder and One of Us Is Lying. 

Ten years ago Jess lost her mother to the Magpie Man, an infamous serial killer who is still at large and planning to kill again. She plans to use her new platform as the star of a YouTube reality series to catch him. That is if he doesn’t catch her first. 

about Vincent Ralph:

Vincent Ralph has been writing for most of his life. He owes his love of books to his mother, who encouraged his passion and imagination from an early age. Vincent has a degree in English Literature and a post-graduate NCTJ in Newspaper and Magazine journalism. He now lives in his home county of Kent with his wife and two cats. Despite being a football writer and senior content editor, Vincent hasn’t given up on his love of fiction. After his debut novel, a YA thriller, Are You Watching? Vincent is back with another riveting read, 14 Ways To Die, published by Sourcebooks in June 2021.

IMAGES VIA SOURCEBOOKS

 

the girl in the headlines and truly, madly, deadly by Hannah Jayne

Here’s another twisty thriller from the author of Truly, Madly, Deadly that will leave readers breathless.

Andrea McNulty goes to sleep on her eighteenth birthday with a near-perfect life: she’s a high school field hockey star, a doted-upon big sister, the beloved daughter of two happy parents. But when she wakes up in a motel room the next morning, unable to remember what happened the previous night and covered in blood, Andi is a fugitive. The headlines say she killed her family. The truth? She doesn’t remember.

 

Truly, Madly, Deadly is a heart-pounding thriller that will leave readers chilled to the core.

Every relationship has its secrets and Sawyer’s are buried deep. Sawyer Dodd had it all: perfect grades, star position on the team, and the perfect boyfriend. But when Kevin dies suddenly in a car accident, Sawyer is stunned. Until she opens her locker and finds the note: You’re welcome.

 

about Hannah Jayne:

Hannah Jayne decided to be an author in the second grade after writing her very first story about penguins floating on an ice floe. Twenty years later, she sat down in her childhood bedroom and wrote her first novel. Fifteen novels and a family later, she now lives in the Silicon Valley with her rockstar English teacher husband, their spitfire daughter, and three cats. She teaches every summer at the Teen Writer’s Institute and constantly does online and in-person workshops. Hannah is a cancer survivor and loves to talk about how much you can kick its butt with or without pink ribbons.

IMAGES VIA SOURCEBOOKS

 

the perfect place to die by Bryce Moore

Stalking Jack the Ripper meets Devil in the White City in The Perfect Place To Die, a terrifying historical fiction debut about one of the world’s most notorious serial killers – H.H. Holmes.

In a desperate effort to save her sister, Zuretta takes up a job at an infamous house of horrors – but she might never escape. 

 

about Bryce Moore:

Bryce Moore is the author of three other books and a proud librarian in Western Maine. He and his wife have been happily married since 2001 and doing their best to raise three little geeks. He spends his free time fixing up his 1841 farmhouse and convincing his wife that sci-fi is awesome.

 

IMAGES VIA SOURCEBOOKS

 

 

the obsession by Jesse q. Sutanto

A fast-paced teen revenge-thriller from the author of Dial A for Aunties, The Obsession will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very end. 

Boy meets girl. Boy stalks girl. Girl gets revenge.

Logan, a stranger to Delilah, thinks they are meant to be. He believes no one knows her like he does and makes sure of it by learning everything he can, watching her through a hidden camera. But Logan isn’t the only one being strange; Delilah is keeping secrets too. Deadly ones.

 

about Jesse Q. Sutanto:

Jesse Q. Sutanto grew between Jakarta and Singapore, two places she considers home. She lived in Oxford for a while where she completed her Masters in Creative Writing. She is passionate about women’s rights and diversity in the publishing world. In her spare time, Jesse hosts giveaways where she offers critique queries for writers from marginalized communities.

 

IMAGES VIA SOURCEBOOKS

 

 

Check out more about these amazing books here.

 

 

featured image by aurora Parkinson

5 YA Thrillers To Spice Up Your Summer

The sun is out. And so is everyone else. The cacophony of friendly banter filling up the streets again, the soaring temperatures, and the urge to hit the water – summer is here, in all its glory. Now is the perfect time to pick up a book (or two, or three) and hit the beach. As we experience a little respite from the pandemic, let’s roll out that towel and bask in the sun with some chilling YA thrillers.

Ready for a dark escape on a bright summer day? We’ve compiled a list of 5 must-reads with gripping storylines to keep you on the edge of your seat (or towel) and make your summer even more exciting. Pack your beach bag with some great summer reads and let’s go!

1. 14 Ways to die by vincent ralph

IMAGE VIA SOURCEBOOKS

It’s been a decade since Jess lost her mother. Today, she is still trying to catch the criminal behind her mother’s death – the infamous serial killer, the Magpie Man. Her mother may have been the first of his victims, but she was definitely not the last. As a YouTube reality series star, Jess plans to leverage her platform and resources to aid her quest for justice. But, all eyes are on her, and probably the Magpie Man’s too. Will he catch her first? Or will she succeed at chasing down her mother’s killer?

“An unsettling but easy-to-read blend of social media savvy and gritty gumshoe work.” – Kirkus Reviews.

If you’ve read and loved One of Us Is Lying and A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder, you’re going to thoroughly enjoy the page-turning thriller 14 Ways To Die.

Get your copy here:

 

2. the girl in the headlines by hannah jayne

IMAGE VIA SOURCEBOOKS

The headlines say she killed her family. The truth? She doesn’t remember. Andrea McNulty (Andi) has a near-perfect life: she’s a high school field hockey star, a doted-upon big sister, and the beloved daughter of two happy parents. Until the morning after her eighteenth birthday when she wakes up in a hotel room, covered in blood and unable to recall the events of the previous night. The news suggests Andi’s parents were brutally attacked in the middle of the night. Her father is dead, her mother is in a coma, her little brother Josh is missing – and she is the prime suspect. Terrified and on the run, Andi teams up with Nate, the nice boy working the motel’s front desk, to find the real killer. But as the police are getting farther from the truth, the killer is getting closer to Andi – closer than she could’ve ever imagined.

“This is a propulsive story rife with true-crime TV tropes and plenty of red herrings.” – Kirkus Reviews.

Author of Truly, Madly, Deadly, and See Jane Run, Hannah Jayne comes back with another twisty thriller that’ll leave your head spinning.

Pre-order the book here:

 

3. the perfect place to die by bryce moore

IMAGE VIA SOURCEBOOKS

Zuretta never imagined she’d encounter a monster. She had resigned to a quiet life in Utah. But her life takes a dramatic turn as she leaves her home to find her missing younger sister Ruby, who vanished during her trip to Chicago for the World’s Fair. Set in the 1890s, Chicago is more dangerous than she imagined. Zuretta is lost, unsure, and unknowingly playing with fire when she takes up a job at The Castle hotel – a mysterious place where her sister worked right before she went missing. But, it doesn’t take long for Zuretta to realize The Castle isn’t what it seems. Women disappear at an alarming rate and whispers creep the walls and hallways at night. Soon, she finds herself face-to-face with one of the most infamous killers in American history. Will Zuretta make it out alive?

“This novel will appeal to readers excited about an account of gruesome historical event steered by an intrepid young woman.” – Kirkus Reviews

Stalking Jack the Ripper meets Devil in the White City in this terrifying historical fiction debut about one of the world’s most notorious serial killers, H. H. Holmes. Each chapter begins with chilling quotes and unbearable suspense, which makes The Perfect Place to Die an ideal read for fans of crime and horror.

Preorder your copy here:

4. Truly, madly, deadly by hannah jayne

IMAGE VIA SOURCEBOOKS

Sawyer Dodd had it all: perfect grades, a star position on the team, and the perfect boyfriend. But every relationship has its secrets, and Sawyer’s are buried deep. Sawyer is stunned at her boyfriend Kevin’s sudden death. They say it was a car accident. But it wasn’t. And she learns about this when she opens her locker and finds a note: You’re welcome. Someone saw what he did to her. Someone knew that Sawyer and Kevin weren’t a perfect couple. And that someone – a killer – will do anything to protect Sawyer.

Truly, Madly, Deadly is a heart-pounding thriller that will leave readers chilled to the core.

Get your copy here:

 

5. The obsession by jesse Q. Sutanto

IMAGE VIA SOURCEBOOKS

Logan thinks he and Delilah are meant to be. Delilah doesn’t know who Logan is. But no one knows Delilah like Logan does, or at least that’s what he thinks. And to make sure he learns everything he can – he watches her through a hidden camera. Some might call him a stalker. Logan prefers to be called “romantic”. Delilah is keeping secrets though, deadly ones, and there’s so much more to her than meets the eye. Logan is determined to make Delilah the heroine in his twisted fantasy and he’ll do anything to get what he wants. Delilah on the other hand is done with men controlling her, and if he won’t let her go…she’ll make him.

“Set against a Northern California private school backdrop, the sensational plot is riddled with twists that come at a furious pace … A suspenseful page-turner.” – Kirkus Reviews

The Obsession is a fast-paced teen revenge-thriller from the author of Dial A for Aunties that will keep readers captivated until the very end.

Get your copy here:

And with that, you’re all set to pick a YA chiller thriller for your perfect summer read. Go ahead and grab your copy! You can also check out the amazing giveaway hosted by Sourcebooks here for a chance to win all of these books and bookish goodies!

 

featured images via sourcebooks & canva