Tag: Trilogy

Vampire Diairies Showrunners to Adapt Another LJ Smith Series

Raise your hand if you’re a fan of The Vampire Diaires! If you raised your hand then get ready to get excited because another series has been picked up Warner Brothers TV, that is going to be produced by the same team that brought us TVD. The executive producer team is Greg Berlanti, Sarah Schetcher, and David Madden. They’re currently looking for a writer for the series, which is based on the trilogy by LJ Smith, The Forbidden Games.

Image via Amazon

LJ Smith, is also the author of The Vampire Diaries series. The Forbidden Games, was written back in 1994 and it has a jumanji aspect to it, considering it’s about a young girl named Jenny Thornton, who buys a game and when her and her friends begin to put the pieces together they learn that the game is real. Total jumanji vibes! The rooms are pieced together based on their nightmares and despite the warning, “Entering the Shadowworld can be deadly. So enter at your own risk”, they enter the game anyway and now they have to run from Julian, the man that sold the game to Jenny, and he makes them confront their fears or be stuck in their own priviate hell. What Julian really wants is Jenny, and he will stop at nothing to get her, considering he’s been stalking her for years. Jenny is the prize and now she has to baragin for her body and her soul.

Sounds cool right?! And that’s just the first book! There are two more books in the series! It’s going to make for great TV, especially since LJ Smith laid out the foundation for TVD and it’s the same showrunners. Fingers crossed they find a great writer to bring this amazing series to life!

In the meantime, you can read the triology by clicking here.

You can also binge The Vamprie Diaires on Netflix right here.

Featured Image via Deadline

Hilary Mantel’s ‘The Mirror and the Light’ Finally Has a Release Date!

Good news for fans of Hilary Mantel! Her final historical novel, centered around protagonist Thomas Cromwell, completing the trilogy of works around the life of the famous English statesman, according to The Guardian. The first two novels were titled Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodiesthe first novel charting Cromwell’s rise to greatness, while the second began to show the situation that would lead to Cromwell’s real life execution. The final novel, entitled The Mirror and the Light, will cover the final four years of Cromwell’s life, leading to his death by beheading in 1540.


A classical English woman stands in closeup

Image via Amazon


It’s been eight years since the last segment of the Cromwell story, so it should come as no small release to fans to see that publisher HarperCollins has officially announced that The Mirror and the Light will debut in early 2020, March to be exact. For her part, Hilary Mantel said she had a ‘long journey’ with her protagonist and hopes that readers will see his life through to the end as she has. The publisher has noted the final novel is every bit as engaging as the first two, being immersive and casting a new light on politics through the novel’s themes. The novel plays out like a relationship between predator and prey, as Thomas finds himself losing allies, surrounded on all sides, as the clock ticks closer to the inevitable as the year of his death looms on the horizon.

Mantel answered a few questions from fans, including whether she had trouble killing off her longtime protagonist. In response, she said:


“People ask me if I’m having trouble killing off Thomas Cromwell. No, why would I? It is 10 years’ worth of effort and it is lovely to have the encouragement of people who are waiting for it, but that’s why I want to deliver them something that is the very best.”

Well, it certainly feels like the author is committed to ending the series on the best possible foot and sticking to her guns! This is sure to be a huge release when it comes next year. Are you excited? Tell us!



Featured Image Via The TLS