Tag: the floating feldmans

Bookstr’s Three to Read This Week 8/23/19

Just because summer is coming to a close in just a few weeks doesn’t mean that you still can’t use the magic of a book to escape the confines of reality. We all know how powerful books can be; it’s simply amazing that we can be so easily immersed in countless different universes. You may not be able to afford that ticket to Italy you wanted all these years, but you can go to your room, shut your door and turn off your phone, and take a trip into a world which can light your imagination on fire. Want to know where to get started?

Check out Bookstr’s Three to Read, the three books we’ve picked for you to read this week!

 

OUR HOT PICK

Legacy and the Queen

Created By Kobe Bryant, Written By Annie Matthew

 

 

Synopsis:

From the mind of basketball legend and Academy Award–winning storyteller Kobe Bryant comes a new tale of finding your inner magic against all odds.

GAME. SET. MAGIC.

Game – Tennis means life and death for the residents of the magical kingdom of Nova, and for twelve-year-old Legacy, it’s the only thing getting her through the long days taking care of the other kids at the orphanage. That’s all about to change when she hears about Silla’s tournament.

Set – Silla, the ruler of Nova, hosts an annual tournament for the less fortunate of her citizens to come and prove themselves and win entrance to the Academy, where they can train to compete at nationals. The prize is Silla’s favor and enough cash to keep open the orphanage, and Legacy has her heart set on both.

Magic – What Legacy has yet to know is that the other players have something besides better skills and more money than she does. In Nova, tennis can unlock magic. Magic that Silla used to save the kingdom long ago and magic that her competitors have been training in for months already.

Now, with the world turned against her and the orphanage at stake, Legacy has to learn to use her passion for the game to rise above those around her and shine.

 

Why?

Legacy and the Queen is a highly imaginative story that blends fantasy and realism with themes of determination, sacrifice, friendship, and individual growth. Kobe Bryant, the creator of the book, is an Academy Award-winning story teller, and spends his time creating stories to inspire future generations of athletes to be the best version of themselves. He is a five time NBA champion, league MVP, and Olympic gold medalist, and with this book, he hopes to share what he has learned with young, aspiring athletes around the world.

 

 

Our Beach Pick

The Floating Feldmans

by Elyssa Friedland

 

 

Synopsis:

A family vacation dredges up a boatload of trouble in the next witty, insightful novel from the acclaimed author of The Intermission.

Sink or swim. Or at least that’s what Annette Feldman tells herself when she books a cruise for her entire family. It’s been over a decade since the Feldman clan has spent more than twenty-four hours under the same roof, but Annette is determined to celebrate her seventieth birthday the right way. Just this once, they are going to behave like an actual family.

Too bad her kids didn’t get the memo.

Between the troublesome family secrets, old sibling rivalries, and her two teenage grandkids, Annette’s birthday vacation is looking more and more like the perfect storm. Adrift together on the open seas, the Feldmans will each face the truths they’ve been ignoring—and learn that the people they once thought most likely to sink them are actually the ones who help them stay afloat.

 

Why?

Emily Giffin, a #1 New York Times bestselling author, says this book is “an irresistible drama filled with humor and heart-tugging emotion… I absolutely adore Friedland’s warm, witty writing!” Other reviews praise the book for its vivid characters and its ability to depict the meaning of family in a unique way. Friedland’s latest novel makes for both an entertaining read and a guiding cautionary tale for your next trip to the beach.

 

 

Our Dark Horse

Pretty Revenge

by Emily Liebert

 

 

Synopsis:

The name of the game is revenge—no matter the cost—in this emotionally charged thriller reminiscent of The Wife Between Us and The Perfect Nanny.

Kerrie O’Malley, jobless and in an unfulfilling relationship, can isolate the singular moment in her life when things veered off course—the night she was irrevocably wronged by someone she looked up to. Eighteen years later, when Kerrie sees the very woman who destroyed her life on television, a fire ignites inside her. The stakes are high. The risks are perilous. But she’ll stop at nothing to achieve the retribution she deserves.

Jordana Pierson is a gilded New Yorker who appears to have it all: wealth, glamour, a successful and handsome husband, and a thriving wedding concierge business. Her record is spotless. Her business is flourishing. No one knows the truth about her and the dark shadows of her past.

No one, that is, except Kerrie.

Exploring just how far someone will go for vengeance, Pretty Revenge is a riveting, compulsively readable novel bursting with twists and turns and plenty of suspense.

 

Why?

Reviewers of the book have praised Pretty Revenge for it’s skillful character development and its ability to illustrate the complexity of human motivations, as well as encourage the reader to sympathize with unlikely characters. It’s been noted as a “page-turner” with elements such as retribution, glamour, twists, and turns. It’s a depiction of the dark sides of friendship and retribution, and we highly recommend it.

 

 

All In-text Images Via Amazon.
Featured Image Via

The Other Books You Need to Read This Summer

By now, we have seen a plethora of Summer reading lists, including my own right here on Bookstr.  As I have perused the round-ups of print and larger publications, I am struck once again how the same books are recommended or mentioned on Today and Good Morning America.

Trust me, I could not be happier to see such amazing female writers soaring to the top of the charts. The Female Author Dream Team this Summer is clearly: Jennifer Weiner, Jane Green, Elin Hilderbrand, Mary Kay Andrews, Dorothea Benton Frank, Beatriz Williams, Elizabeth Gilbert, Mary Beth Keane, Sarah Blake, Martha Hall Kelly, Laura Lippman and Sally Rooney. I have read most of their books, and I can safely say each has earned/reached an even higher level of fabulous this year.

 

 

Yet even these unbelievable hardcover books will have to compete for spots on the NYT Best Seller List with the likes of Where The Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens and books by the ever-prolific James Patterson, David Balducci, John Sanford and George RR Martin not to mention the latest Danielle Steel. And on the paperback side, Lisa Wingate, Celeste Ng, Heather Morris, E.L James, Gail Honeyman, Ruth Ware, Kate Morton and Pam Jenoff all wrote amazing novels that rightly deserve their places atop lists with wonderful books that deserve their praise.

But what about the other books of Summer? The ones that came out in May and earlier June that weren’t on every list, but still linger with readers. Plus, it is only June 11th.  So many more great books are forthcoming but have yet to make “the” lists.  Let’s look at some titles that I believe easily deserve their place in the sun and for months to come. I am hoping you agree and propel these titles to join the ranks of the books listed above.

 

Incredible Thrillers

Dear Wife by Kimberly Belle

Girls Like Us by Cristina Alger

The Arrangement by Robyn Harding

 

 

Each of these should be atop all the lists.  You will want to read each in one-sitting. In Dear Wife, I assure you that you will gasp out loud at one point and then marvel at Belle’s brilliance. Girls Like Us and The Arrangement are both page-turners that show the struggles of young women fighting to survive in New York. Both are believable yet shocking and so well-written.

 

Summer Greatness

Drawing Home by Jamie Brenner

The Floating Feldmans by Elyssa Friedland.

The Summer Country by Lauren Willig

 

 

While I have seen a few comments from esteemed authors lately about Summer books being categorized as light fluffy women’s fiction, I disagree. Any book can be a beach read or Summer Read. See my Female Author Summer Dream Team above as Exhibits A-Z on this subject. There is everything to be said about books set on vacation or in Summertime. These three are prime examples of Summer greatness.

In the vein of Elin Hilderbrand, Drawing Home by Jamie Brenner takes us to Sag Harbor and The American Hotel. Brenner delves into the mother daughter relationship and examines what makes a family. Brenner again delivers a cast of characters , some we love, some we don’t but all we will remember. In The Floating Feldmans by Elyssa Friedland, an extended family takes a cruise. And who cannot relate to a dysfunctional family vacation? Friedland does a masterful job creating a large cast of characters. Her writing soars in this novel. The Summer Country by Lauren Willig takes us to 1854 Barbados in a  sweeping, dramatic Victorian epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados. No one can create a setting quite like Willig.

 

A Swoon Worthy Romance

 

Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston hit the NYT list for one week. I would argue that this book should be a very long-term occupant there. I love a world where a gay romance novel between the fictional first son and the Prince of Wales immediately soars to best seller status.  Even if you say, “I don’t read romance.” Trust me, read this book.

 

ANDREA PESKIND KATZ IS AN AVID READER, A BOOK REVIEWER, AND FOUNDER OF THE BOOK BLOG GREAT THOUGHTS AND GREAT THOUGHT’S GREAT READERS BOOK SALON ON FACEBOOK.