Tag: The Academy of American Poets


The 2019 Walt Whitman Award Is Ready for You!

The Academy of American Poets announced that 2019 Walt Whitman Award, the nation’s most valuable first-book prize for poetry, is ready for the next poet-to-be! This year’s judge will be Li-Young Lee.


Established in 1975, the Academy of American Poets’ Walt Whitman Award is aimed at encouraging emerging poets. Previous award-embroidered poets includes Nicole CooleySuji Kwock KimEric PankeyMatt RasmussenAlberto Ríos, and Mai Der Vang, to name but a few. The most recent winner of the prize was Emily Skaja, for her book BRUTE, which was selected by judge Joy Harjo and will be published by Graywolf Press in April 2019.


According to the organization, the winner gets:


  • $5,000
  • The winning manuscript published by Graywolf Press in 2020
  • The Academy of American Poets will purchase and send thousands of copies of the book to its members, which will make it one of the most widely distributed poetry books of the year
  • The award winner will receive a six-week all-expenses-paid residency at the Civitella Ranieri Center in Italy
  • Will be featured in American Poets magazine and on Poets.org, which reaches millions of readers each year



The judge Li-Young Lee received the 2003 Academy of American Poets Fellowship for great poetic achievement. He is the author of those award-crowned books:


  • The Undressing (W. W. Norton, 2018)
  • Behind My Eyes (W. W. Norton, 2008)
  • Book of My Nights (BOA Editions, 2001)
  • The City in Which I Love You (BOA Editions, 1990)
  • Rose (BOA Editions, 1986).



Image via GIPHY



Submissions to the 2019 Walt Whitman Award will be accepted online between September 1 and November 1, 2018, and the recipient will be announced in April 2019. Awwwww! Sounds like there’s a shinny chance waiting for you, emerging poets and poets-to-be!!! Go and try yourselves!




Featured Image Via WOSU Radio – WOSU Public Media