Tag: shadow and bone

A Close Look at the Cast of ‘Shadow and Bone’!

This week brought a lot of excitement for fans of Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone and Six of Crows book series. It was announced a few months ago that Netflix had picked it up for an eight-episode series to be aired on the streaming site, produced by Eric Heisserer and directed by Lee Toland Krieger. On Tuesday, October 2nd, we reported that the cast list was finally released! So let’s take a closer look:

 

 

Ben Barnes as The Darkling

 

Ben Barnes
Image Via Twitter

 

Barnes, who has previously appeared on Westworld and The Picture of Dorian Grey, among others, plays The Darkling, a military elite who is determined to liberate his people from the opposing force, the Shadow Fold.  

 

Freddy Carter as Kaz Brekker

 

Image Via IMDB

 

Carter, known for his roles in Wonder Woman and Pennyworth, will play Kaz Brekker, the leader of the Dregs one of the most prominent gangs in the city of Ketterdam. Like any mafia leader, he is known for getting his hands dirty, willing to do any task no matter the violence or danger involved. 

 

Jessie Mei Li as Alina Starkov

 

Image Via IMDB

image via imdb.com

 

Li plays Alina Starkov, the main character of the Shadow and Bone novels, is an orphan who volunteers to serve in the military and ultimately becomes one of the most powerful Grisha who ever lived.  

 

Archie Renaux as Maylen Oretsev

 

Image Via jadedaniellsmith.com

 

Renaux plays Maylen Oretsev, who in the novels is known as Mal, is Alina’s childhood best friend, a former soldier for the First Army, and a gifted tracker, able to find anything in a matter of seconds.   

 

Amita Suman as Inej Ghafa

 

Image Via IMDB

 

Suman, who ha previously appeared in The Outpost and Doctor Who, plays Inej who is a spy for the Dregs of which Brekker is the leader.

 

Kit Young as Jesper Fahey

 

Image Via Twitter

 

Young plays Jesper Fahey, a sharpshooter and another member of the Dregs.

 

According to an article in Variety, other reccurring actors will be Sujaya Dasgupta as Zoya Nazyalensky, Danielle Galligan as Nina Zenik, Daisy Head as Genya Safin and Simon Sears as Ivan. 

 

So far, it seems that reactions to the cast list have been positive, especially regarding Ben Barnes playing the Darkling. 

Netflix’s ‘Shadow and Bone’ Finds Its Bright New Cast

While we still don’t have a release date for Netflix’s “Shadow and Bone” series, we finally have a cast to shamelessly follow on social media and add to our fan-edits!

 

 

Yesterday, Netflix announced its cast for their new series based on Leigh Bardugo’s award-winning “Grishaverse” books. The series is set to adapt both her Shadow and Bone and Six of Crows book series and the casting for characters from both series has left book fans in a frenzy!

 

Shadow & Bone Books

Image via collider

 

Leading the series as Shadow and Bone protagonist Alina Starkov is Jessie Mei Li (known for her upcoming role in Last Night in Soho). Playing alongside her will be a favorite among fans, Ben Barnes (Westworld, The Punisher, Chronicles of Narnia) as General Kirigan. Also joining the Shadow and Bone portion of the cast is Archie Renaux (Voyagers) as Malyen Oretsev, Sujaya Dasgupta (Press, Guilt) as Zoya Nazyalensky, Simon Sears (Winter Brothers) as Ivan, and Daisy Head (Guilt) as Genya Safin.

 

Six of Crows/Leigh Barduugo

Image via wordpress

 

On the Six of Crows front, Freddy Carter (Pennyworth) will be playing gang-leader Kaz Brekker. Starring alongside him will be Amita Suman (The Outpost) as Inej Ghafa, Kit Young (Endeavour) as Jesper Fahey, and Danielle Galligan (Game of Thrones) as Nina Zenik.

The series is being adapted by showrunner Eric Heisserer known for his work on Arrival and is being directed by Lee Toland of The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina. Bardugo herself is an executive producer on the show and expressed her excitement about the casting announcement. The cast we have so far has definitely made us fans more excited about the show and kept us on our toes for casting to come!

 

 

 

Featured Image Via Polygon

Author of ‘Six of Crows’ Releases New Adult Fantasy Novel

Leigh Bardugo is an incredible YA author famously known for her immersive worlds and cast of diverse, interesting characters. Her previous YA fantasy series include the Grisha trilogy, King of Scars, and the popular Six of Crows duology. Set in a world known as the Grishaverse in which different Grisha possess magical powers under different orders of magic—The Order of the Living and the Dead, the Order of Summoners, and the Order of Fabrikators—Leigh Bardugo created fictional countries with such unique cultures and locations that they almost seemed believable. And let’s not forget how much we all fell in love with Kaz Brekker from Six of Crows. Amidst the buzz about Shadow and Bone, the first book in the Grisha trilogy, coming to Netflix, Bardugo has decided to dive into a new realm of magic by penning her first adult novel.

 

Image result for six of crows characters

image via we heart it

 

Bardugo’s new novel, titled Ninth Houseseems to be the first book set outside the Grishaverse. And this setting might be slightly more familiar to us—it’s New Haven, Connecticut. The book follows a Yale freshman with a bad past, Alex Stern. She was raised by a hippie mom and dropped out of school to mess around with drug dealer boyfriends and bad jobs. It’s unlikely that she would end up at Yale, but when she becomes the only survivor of a multiple homicide, Alex is offered a full ride to one of the most prestigious universities. Alex’s benefactors instruct her to monitor the suspicious activities of the secret societies within Yale, and she soon discovers that these societies are more sinister than one might expect. The Yale societies are made up of prominent rich and powerful figures who conduct occult activities and forbidden magic in windowless clubhouses referred to as “tombs.”

 

Image result for ninth house

image via amazon

 

Bardugo, a graduate of Yale herself, says that she’s had the idea for Ninth House since her first day in New Haven as a student. The book’s release date is October 8th, and Bardugo says, “October is the perfect time for sinister tales, and I hope you’ll find Ninth House to be thrilling, eerie, funny, and maybe a little unnerving.”

It’ll be interesting to see how Leigh Bardugo makes the switch from young adult fiction to adult fiction. Her books have certainly dealt with dark themes surrounding magic before, and they’ve always held a particular air of maturity for YA books. Still, maybe Ninth House will be even more mature now that Bardugo is incorporating some of her own experiences. It also makes you wonder just what Leigh Bardugo experienced at Yale to imagine their secret societies as something occult. But what even are the Yale secret societies? Does her fantastical interpretation have any weight?

 

 

Each Yale secret society is small and only allows fifteen members or so. As is to be expected, it’s almost impossible to find information about these societies or what they do, but many of them also have impressive amounts of wealth. Yale has forty-one secret societies that we know about, each with menacing names like Berzelius, Skull and Bones, Book and Snake, Wolf’s Head, and Scroll and Key. With names like Skull and Bones, why shouldn’t we be suspicious? Skull and Bones is probably the most famous secret society and its alumni include William Howard Taft, President George H.W. Bush, President George W. Bush, and former Secretary of State John Kerry. Most of the societies’ alumni seem to be involved in political or financial positions of power… possibly bargained for by occult means? The architectural style of the tomb-like, windowless clubhouses was designed with privacy in mind, so we may never really know what goes on inside.

 

image via curbed.com

 

After a few break-ins to the “tombs,” the floor plan of the original Skull and Bones building was published and it seemed like a fairly normal clubhouse. Nonetheless, who knows what the members of the societies could be concealing behind hidden walls and doors? Maybe Bardugo discovered something in her time at Yale and is finally revealing the dark, supernatural truth.

With a mix of such creepy rumors surrounding the Yale societies in real life and Bardugo’s thrilling, intense writing style, Ninth House is sure to be an amazing first adult fantasy novel for this author.

 

 

Featured image via Flatiron Books