Tag: Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas Fans: This Queer Sci-Fi Story Explores What Humanity Really Means

Sarah J. Maas fans, take note: there’s a new fantasy queen about to take over your reading life. Award-winning screenplay and short story writer Nina Varela’s debut novel Crier’s War is an Own Voices fantasy epic that will have you on the edge of your seat from the first page. It has been described by Booklist as “Rife with mystery, romantic tension, and political intrigue… perfect for readers craving queer fantasy with dense worldbuilding.”

 

 

From debut author Nina Varela comes the first book in an Own Voices, richly imagined epic fantasy duology about an impossible love between two girls—one human, one Made—whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution.

Perfect for fans of Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Curse as well as Game of Thrones and Westworld.

After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their owners’ estates and bent the human race to their will.

Now Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the House of the Sovereign, dreams of avenging her family’s death…by killing the sovereign’s daughter, Lady Crier.

Crier was Made to be beautiful, flawless, and to carry on her father’s legacy. But that was before her betrothal to the enigmatic Scyre Kinok, before she discovered her father isn’t the benevolent king she once admired, and most importantly, before she met Ayla.

Now, with growing human unrest across the land, pressures from a foreign queen, and an evil new leader on the rise, Crier and Ayla find there may be only one path to love: war.

 

Images Via garage26 and HarperCollins

 

I know. Before you ask, here’s the preorder link. And though you definitely don’t need any more convincing after reading that enticing blurb, I’m just going to keep going, because I am EXCITED about this book.

Though LGBTQAI+ representation has undoubtedly become more common in recent years, it is still super exciting to see this representation manifesting in new and different ways, across all types of fiction. This is something Varela is passionate about, telling blog Book Bratz that “Homophobia doesn’t exist in the world of Crier’s War; Crier and Ayla never experience any suffering or oppression because of their sexualities; but I am queer and I live on Earth and some of my world bled through. I don’t want to spoil anything, but I think there’s a certain part of Crier’s story—separate from the romance—that will resonate with queer people.”

And the School Library Journal agrees, noting that Crier’s War is “A lush #OwnVoices fantasy debut with science fiction elements and LGBTQIA+ representation.” (Sidenote: they also call it “perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass.” Didn’t I say this! Maas fans, I see you.)

But seriously, Crier’s War is already causing a stir, with Kirkus Reviews gushing that “Dizzying political machinations intertwine with a burgeoning romance. The plot zooms ahead with nail-biting tension. A fresh, suspenseful take on the robot apocalypse'” and Tara Sim, author of the Timekeeper Trilogy calling it “a beautiful poem of a book.” And if you know anything about Nina Varela, it really comes as no surprise that she should have written something so beautiful and revolutionary.

Don’t miss your chance to catch Nina Varela IRL at the following locations next month!

  • Saturday, October 5th, The Ripped Bodice with Audrey Coulthurst, Los Angeles, CA
  • Saturday, October 12th, Tattered Cover with Casey McQuiston, Denver, CO
  • Friday, October 18th, Books Inc. Opera Plaza with Tara Sim, San Francisco, CA

And find her online on her website ninavarela.com, Twitter, and Instagram!

Happy Birthday to ‘Throne of Glass’!

 

Happy anniversary to Throne of Glassa young adult fantasy series by American author Sarah J. Maas. The first book, Throne of Glass, was published in August 2012. Throughout its cycle, the series appeared on The New York Times bestsellers list and is currently being optioned as a series to be adapted for Hulu. The story follows Celaena Sardothien, a teenage assassin in a corrupt kingdom with a tyrannical ruler. As the tale progresses, Celaena forms unexpected bonds and uncovers a conspiracy amidst her adventures. The series concluded with its eighth entry in October of 2018.

 

Image via Wikipedia

 

Calaena is imprisoned and betrayed by her master at the start of the series. Trained from childhood to become an assassin, she is a master of her trade and adopts a new identity in order to avoid painting a target on her, as she was known as the King’s Assassin before her imprisonment. The book follows her journey as she escapes from slavery and finds herself with the destiny to destroy the King and free the world from his tyrannical rule.

The author revealed she grew up reading about such heroines in fiction, such as Sabriel, and wanted to give her own fanbase a strong female protagonist that they too could feel empowered by. She was quoted as saying this about her conception of Calaena:

 

‘I grew up reading books like Robin McKinley’s The Hero and the Crown and Garth Nix’s Sabriel—both of which feature strong heroines, and both of which profoundly shaped my identity and empowered me. I started writing knowing I wanted to create books like that—mostly because that’s what interests me and where my passion lies, but also because I’d love for some young woman to read [Throne of Glass] and feel empowered, too.’

 

Calaena is characterized as very skilled but also with flaws that make her three dimensional, such as arrogance and a bit of narcissism. Funny enough, the author drew inspiration from Disney’s Cinderellafinding the sequence where Cinderella flees the ball to have a soundtrack that was much too intense for the material and imagined it would fit much better if an assassin was in Cinderella’s place. The first book, initially named Queen of Glass, appeared on FictionPress.com before being picked up by the publisher, Bloomsbury, after the series developed a strong online following. From there, the series took off and became an epic fantasy tale, although the author noted nods to Cinderella can still be seen within the novels.

The series has received generally positive reviews, praising its protagonist and setting, noting the author’s skill at both characterization and world-building. We can only hope the series will be picked up for a series on Hulu!

Happy birthday to Throne of Glass! Do you have fond memories of reading this series? Tell us in the comments.

 

 

Featured Image Via Amazon

 

 

 

New Sarah J. Maas’s Book Title and Cover Drop!

Huge news for Sarah J. Maas fans! This morning, Bloomsbury USA just dropped a big reveal that has us hyped all the way to a solid 10 on the hype train. On Twitter, Bloomsbury announced the publication, cover, and release date for Sarah J. Maas’s first adult fantasy series, called Crescent City, with the first book known as The House of Earth and Blood. The release date will be January 8th, 2020. The cover for the first book is below, looking wicked:

 

The cover to Crescent City by Sarah J Maas, featuring a cracked column with a crow roostingImage Via Goodreads

 

The synopsis, released via Goodreads, is just as intriguing. The plot is about a half-fae, half-human girl called Bryce Quinlan. By day, she sells illegal magical artifacts, while by night she savors the pleasures of her home, Crescent City. But her life is shattered when a murder shakes the foundations of Crescent City. Two years later, she’s stuck in a rut when the murderer strikes again. Bryce is assigned to the investigation against her will and paired up with a brooding Fallen angel. But they’re going to have to work together to solve the murder, even as ancient things beyond their comprehension begin to stir…

The story is said to deals with themes of suspense, mystery, and romance. It has been described as a spine-tingling page turner, which we can’t wait to pick up. Sarah J. Maas has struck again and 2020 can’t get here fast enough! How hyped are you? Let us know in the comments!

 

Featured Image Via Entertainment Weekly