Tag: Jennifer Niven

‘All the Bright Places’ is Coming to Netflix

All the Bright Places, is finally coming to our screens! The 2015 novel of the same name was written by Jennifer Niven, and optioned for a film in 2014, before the book’s release. Now it’s finally slated to hit Netflix next year.

Image result for all the bright places
 Image via Amazon

The novel follows two teenagers, Violet Markey and Theodore Finch, who have reached a dark point in their lives, and struggle to cope with their mental illnesses. They find themselves on the roof of their school and meet for the first time. Violet is coping with the death of her older sister, Eleanor, who died in a car accident. Violet feels responsible for her death and hasn’t been in a car since the accident. Finch is depressed and has constant thoughts of suicide. His family doesn’t understand his depression so he feels alone until he meets Violet, who he talks off the ledge, and vice versa.

This then leads them to make a pact – to find all the bright places, all the wonderful exciting things in the world, and in themselves.

 

The film will star Elle Fanning as Violet and Justice Smith as Theodore. It will be available to stream on Netflix on February 28, 2020.

Image result for all the bright places cast
Image via IMDB

Bookstr is community supported. If you enjoy Bookstr’s articles, quizzes, graphics and videos, please join our Patreon to support our writers and creators or donate to our Paypal and help Bookstr to keep supporting the book loving community.
Become a Patron!https://c6.patreon.com/becomePatronButton.bundle.js

Featured image via Popsugar 

Post-It notes stylize the title of All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

10 Books Coming to the Silver Screen in 2018

2018 is set to be a killer year for book adaptions for the big screen. We’re anticipating adaptations of everything from children’s classics to classic horror, and some of the biggest names in the business starring in them! Whether you’re a Beatrix Potter fan, an E.L James Stan, a YA lover, or a Vonnegut connoisseur, we’ve compiled a list of the top ten page-to-screen extravaganzas to look out for next year. 

 

1. Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter

 

 Image courtesy of bellalunatoys.com

Image Courtesy of Bella Luna Toys

 

This classic tale follows the adventures of Potter’s most famous mischievous rabbit. Fans of the beautiful original illustrations will be interested to see how these translate to 3D animation when the film is released on February 9th. It will star James Corden voicing the titular role, alongside big names such as Daisy Ridley, Domhnall Gleeson and Margot Robbie.

 

2. Fifty Shades Freed by E.L. James

 

Image courtesy of fiftyshadesofgrey.wikia.com

Image Courtesy of Wikipedia

 

For those looking for something a little racier than Peter Rabbit, also coming out on February 9th is the final installment of E.L James’s hit Fifty Shades series, once again starring Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan. This Danny Elfman scored flick follows Ana and Christian who are now married, and the outside forces threatening Ana’s life.

 

3. Maze Runner: The Death Cure by James Dashner

 

 Image courtesy of Wikipedia

Image Courtesy of Wikipedia

 

The third installment of Dashner’s dystopian trilogy will be hitting screens on February 17th, a year later than planned after star Dylan O’Brien sustained injuries working on set in Vancouver. This story follows Thomas and the Gladers as they fight to find a cure for the disease which has wiped out most of the world’s population. Alongside O’Brien will star Kaya Scoldelario, Thomas Brody-Sangster and Aiden Gillen.

 

4. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

 

Image Courtesy of Amazon

Image Courtesy of Amazon

 

Sci-Fi nuts will love this adaptation of L’Engle’s 1962 novel about life and death, good and evil, and time travel. The star-studded cast includes Reese Witherspoon, Chris Pine, Mindy Kaling, and Oprah Winfrey, and you can expect to see all of their lovely faces on March 9th. 

 

5. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

 

 Image Courtesy of Wikipedia

Image Courtesy of Wikipedia

 

Another one for Sci-Fi fans is this Spielberg adaptation of Cline’s 2011 novel. Coming out on March 30th, the movie starring Simon Pegg, Mark Rylance, and Olivia Cooke follows the struggle in the year 2044 to find an Easter Egg left behind by the head of an MMO, the finder of which will inherit a fortune.

 

6. The Invisible Man by H.G Wells

 

Image Courtesy of bookfiend.wordpress.com

Image Courtesy of bookfiend.wordpress.com

 

This classic horror, set for release on April 13th, follows a mad scientist who makes himself invisible. It is not yet known if the upcoming movie, starring Johnny Depp, will stick more closely to the original novel than the 1933 version (which featured some major differences in plot), or if it will just be a modern remake. The Invisible Man is set to be the second installment of Universal Pictures’ Universal Monsters series, which began with The Mummy (2017) and will be followed by The Bride of Frankenstein (2019)

 

7. Meg by Steven Alten

 

Meg by Steve Alten

Image Courtesy of Wikipedia

 

What’s a year in cinema without a killer shark movie? Steve Alten’s novel about a megalodon, a prehistoric shark and the largest sea predator to ever exist, will be chomping its way to a screen near you in August 2018. The story follows paleontologist Jonas Taylor, the survivor of a megalodon attack, and his attempts to prove the beast still exists. Ruby Rose and Jason Statham are set to star.

 

8. Bluebeard by Kurt Vonnegut

 

Bluebeard by Kurt Vonnegut

Image Courtesy of Goodreads

 

Calling all Vonnegut fans! You can expect to see his novel Bluebeard coming to the big screen on October 29th. Little else is known about this project as yet, but we’re super excited to see who will star as Vonnegut’s reclusive painter protagonist Rabo Karabekian! 

 

9. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

 

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Image Courtesy of IMDB

 

The New York Times touted this YA book as perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars and Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park, and judging by how well TFIOS did at the box office, we’re guessing this tale of two teens helping each other through their respective problems will be a hit. Set to star Elle Fanning in the role of Violet, a teen struggling with the death of her sister, the film will be released on an undisclosed date in 2018. 

 

10. Ophelia by Lisa Klein

 

Ophelia by Lisa Klein

Image Courtesy of Goodreads

 

Shakespeare fans can look forward to Klein’s retelling of the classic story of Hamlet from the point of view of Ophelia, which will hit screens on an as-yet unknown date in 2018. The cast includes Daisy Ridley, Naomi Watts, Clive Owen and Tom Felton as Shakespeare’s classic characters battling for love and revenge in the kingdom of Elisnore.

 

Featured Image Courtesy of Goodreads