Exclusive: Man Who Proposed at John Green Signing Reveals Real Life Love Story

Exclusive: Man Who Proposed at John Green Signing Reveals Real Life Love Story

Book Culture

John Green made dreams come true at his book signing in Cincinnati. While touring for Turtles All the Way Down, Green did an Ask Me Anything (AMA) reddit thread in which fan Kenny Schutzman asked for his advice on a future marriage proposal. Green said that it could be done at his upcoming book signing! Well, the proposal went great and we got the chance to ask Kenny some questions about the event and his relationship with now-fiancée, Amy.   Witness the proposal yourself right here!     Tell us the story of how you two met.   My friend Tom Beck asked …

Q&A: This YouTube Series Is Lit AF

Q&A: This YouTube Series Is Lit AF

Book Culture

We recently talked with The team behind multi-platform media brand Wisecrack about one of the crown jewels in their burgeoning online empire: Thug Notes. Centered around the literary exploits of certified ganster/Ph.D Spark Sweets, the series has helped out many struggling students and attracted countless fans from all walks of life. Below is the full Q&A with Mendeloff; you can read our longer article about Thug Notes here.   1.     Where did the idea for Thug Notes originate?   It was a combination of things. Jared, who created and directs the show, was waiting in line to see Barry Lyndon at the Egyptian Theater in Hollywood. …

Straight Outta Dickens, ‘Thug Notes’ Is Changing The Lit Education Game

Straight Outta Dickens, ‘Thug Notes’ Is Changing The Lit Education Game

Book Culture

  Let us set the scene: a dimly lit library in the vein of Hogwarts or Beauty and the Beast. Rows upon rows of musty old books fill the shelves. Light classical music plays gaily in the background. And in the middle of it all, a man in a leather armchair, reclining and intently reading a book. But the personage who owns this library is not some, as one might assume, a monocle-wearing, tweed-loving, tea-drinking old white dude. But you would be mistaken. The proprietor of this library is none other than a fellow named Sparky Sweets, Ph.D. He is …

Meet the Bookstagrammer Who’s Read Over 200 Books in a Year

Meet the Bookstagrammer Who’s Read Over 200 Books in a Year

If you’re a book loving, internet explorer, you may have come across Paper Fury, a blog run by a dedicated and ferocious reader. The woman behind the site, Cait, is a jack of all trades in the literary sense. She’s an excellent book reviewer who takes gorgeous pictures of books. She’s even got her own Etsy store, Paper Fury Ink with handmaid origami art. We talked to the genius behind these gorgeous photos and witty tweets about the life of a bookworm, and uncovered what it takes to be a bookish internet sensation. Safe to say, the Paper Fury is …