Tag: Ernest Cline

7 Cli-Fi Books to Celebrate Earth Day and Every Day

April 22nd is Earth Day, and while you’re all busy reducing, reusing, and recycling, we’ve made a list of cli-fi books for you to read and share. Cli-Fi has become a new genre of fiction, focusing on the most drastic effects of climate change that we face by taking no actions to stop it. They’re eerie, they’re surprisingly accurate, and they’re a lot of fun.

 

1. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

 

Ready Player One Book Cover
IMAGE VIA THE CROWN PUBLISHING GROUP

The many 80’s references and killer virtual reality video game detract from the fact that Ready Player One paints a disturbing picture of the future. The plot develops due to the fact that the environment has literally deteriorated. The book takes place in the year 2045, which is really not too far into the future. We’ve even recently been warned that we can start to see similar effects by the time we do get to the 2040’s. The earth is destitute, and people are living in stacks of trailers. Because there is little to no agriculture due to climate change, there is little to no income. Kids are using computers to attend school in a virtual reality setting, and virtual currencies are worth significantly more than national currencies. The book highlights just how much of a threat is posed if we allow the environment to crumble like we currently are. The economy will crumble right behind it, leaving us to rely on a billionaire to develop a game like Oasis where we can win his entire estate. This is what gamers have been preparing for their whole lives, but it would just be easier if we planted some trees.

2. The Lorax by Dr. Seuss

 

The Lorax Serves the Trees
IMAGE VIA EARLY MOMENTS

I bet you had no idea that long before saving the bees and trees became a global concern, Dr. Seuss was warning the world about the threat dangerous progress posed to the earth’s natural beauty through The Lorax. We’ve destroyed whole forests to build cities, and allowed gas guzzling cars to take over as a main source of transportation because it was most convenient. We never even tried to understand what these things would do until it was too late. While the book is aimed towards children, adults still have a lot to learn from Dr. Seuss.

 

3. The MaddAddam Series by Margaret Atwood

 

maddaddam trilogy
IMAGE VIA VARIETY

Margaret Atwood has been eerily accurate in her dystopian novels, and this is no exception. Atwood holds up a mirror to show us what we are facing by doing nothing about the pending dooms of climate change in these three books: Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood, and MaddAddam. After a man-made plague wipes out a good percentage of the world’s population, a bio-engineered species is created to replace humans. You were worried about robots taking your jobs, well this is even scarier. The books track several characters as they face rising sea levels and quite literally the end of the world as we know it. Should we be scared? Definitely, as it seems life does seem to be headed the way Atwood predicts in her other dystopias, and even after being warned we need to take action we remain unsurprisingly inactive.

4. The Road by Cormac McCarthy

 

The Road by Cormac McCarthy book cover
IMAGE VIA BOOK DEPOSITORY

The Road takes a look at a father and son duo, who find themselves trekking across a burned up United States in search of the shore. Snow has turned grey, and the only movement is that of the ashes. A dried up and burned up earth may not seem so close to reality, but California has already experienced drought and wildfires that may make you think twice about that. Armed with only a pistol, the duo make their way across the country, with only love for the other to save themselves. Hope has gone out the window, there is a lingering fear of others who they may come across. The only food they have is what they brought with them. There is no livestock, no crops, not even a bush of berries to sustain them. In a world that has been destroyed by climate changes, it is clear there is nothing left but fear and hopelessness.

 

5. New York 2140 by Kim Stanley Robinson

 

New York 2140 by Kim Stanley Robinson book cover
IMAGE VIA HACHETTE BOOK GROUP

Taking place just over a century in the future, it is clear through New York 2140 that climate change is seriously in effect. The water has risen, submerging all of New York City. Every street has become a waterway, and every skyscraper an island. Though the story is told with a humorous tone, it is clear these are not funny circumstances. Subway gone, historic monuments gone, the New York Public Library gone. Robinson tells the story through the eyes of several characters all observing the new New York from a single building. Through Robinson’s craft, it is easy to see the undesirable changes New York undergoes and, therefore, we undergo.

 

6. The Rain Never Came by Lachlan Walter

 

The Rain Never Came by Lachlan Walter book cover
IMAGE VIA GOODREADS

After a drought strikes Australia, citizens in The Rain Never Came are escorted away towards more livable environments. Some decide to remain behind, hiding in places no one would dare look. Bill Cook and Tobe Cousins are just two such people. The book clearly plays on very real fears that we face in conjunction with climate change. Like I said earlier, California is currently facing this issue. This is no longer some dystopian idea, it is real life for too many people. There is definitely a post-apocalyptic feel to this book, but that doesn’t take away from the fact that this could soon be reality.

 

7. Gold Fame Citrus by Claire Vaye Watkins

 

Gold Fame Citrus by Claire Vaye Watkins book cover
IMAGE VIA NPR

Gold Fame Citrus takes the story of Luz and Ray, survivors of a drought-struck California. People have been ushered to government camps on the east coast, while others have been stopped from crossing the California border. Those left are surviving on rations of water and anything else they can scavenge for. Destitute land turning citizens into thieves and vigilantes is nothing new in Cli-Fi, but what makes this original is the fact that this isn’t some far-fetched idea. Again, droughts in California are happening. While we haven’t yet started rationing anything or shipping people off to encampments, what is to say we won’t if things do get worse?

featured image via alabama political reporter
Post-It notes stylize the title of All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

10 Books Coming to the Silver Screen in 2018

2018 is set to be a killer year for book adaptions for the big screen. We’re anticipating adaptations of everything from children’s classics to classic horror, and some of the biggest names in the business starring in them! Whether you’re a Beatrix Potter fan, an E.L James Stan, a YA lover, or a Vonnegut connoisseur, we’ve compiled a list of the top ten page-to-screen extravaganzas to look out for next year. 

 

1. Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter

 

 Image courtesy of bellalunatoys.com

Image Courtesy of Bella Luna Toys

 

This classic tale follows the adventures of Potter’s most famous mischievous rabbit. Fans of the beautiful original illustrations will be interested to see how these translate to 3D animation when the film is released on February 9th. It will star James Corden voicing the titular role, alongside big names such as Daisy Ridley, Domhnall Gleeson and Margot Robbie.

 

2. Fifty Shades Freed by E.L. James

 

Image courtesy of fiftyshadesofgrey.wikia.com

Image Courtesy of Wikipedia

 

For those looking for something a little racier than Peter Rabbit, also coming out on February 9th is the final installment of E.L James’s hit Fifty Shades series, once again starring Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan. This Danny Elfman scored flick follows Ana and Christian who are now married, and the outside forces threatening Ana’s life.

 

3. Maze Runner: The Death Cure by James Dashner

 

 Image courtesy of Wikipedia

Image Courtesy of Wikipedia

 

The third installment of Dashner’s dystopian trilogy will be hitting screens on February 17th, a year later than planned after star Dylan O’Brien sustained injuries working on set in Vancouver. This story follows Thomas and the Gladers as they fight to find a cure for the disease which has wiped out most of the world’s population. Alongside O’Brien will star Kaya Scoldelario, Thomas Brody-Sangster and Aiden Gillen.

 

4. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

 

Image Courtesy of Amazon

Image Courtesy of Amazon

 

Sci-Fi nuts will love this adaptation of L’Engle’s 1962 novel about life and death, good and evil, and time travel. The star-studded cast includes Reese Witherspoon, Chris Pine, Mindy Kaling, and Oprah Winfrey, and you can expect to see all of their lovely faces on March 9th. 

 

5. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

 

 Image Courtesy of Wikipedia

Image Courtesy of Wikipedia

 

Another one for Sci-Fi fans is this Spielberg adaptation of Cline’s 2011 novel. Coming out on March 30th, the movie starring Simon Pegg, Mark Rylance, and Olivia Cooke follows the struggle in the year 2044 to find an Easter Egg left behind by the head of an MMO, the finder of which will inherit a fortune.

 

6. The Invisible Man by H.G Wells

 

Image Courtesy of bookfiend.wordpress.com

Image Courtesy of bookfiend.wordpress.com

 

This classic horror, set for release on April 13th, follows a mad scientist who makes himself invisible. It is not yet known if the upcoming movie, starring Johnny Depp, will stick more closely to the original novel than the 1933 version (which featured some major differences in plot), or if it will just be a modern remake. The Invisible Man is set to be the second installment of Universal Pictures’ Universal Monsters series, which began with The Mummy (2017) and will be followed by The Bride of Frankenstein (2019)

 

7. Meg by Steven Alten

 

Meg by Steve Alten

Image Courtesy of Wikipedia

 

What’s a year in cinema without a killer shark movie? Steve Alten’s novel about a megalodon, a prehistoric shark and the largest sea predator to ever exist, will be chomping its way to a screen near you in August 2018. The story follows paleontologist Jonas Taylor, the survivor of a megalodon attack, and his attempts to prove the beast still exists. Ruby Rose and Jason Statham are set to star.

 

8. Bluebeard by Kurt Vonnegut

 

Bluebeard by Kurt Vonnegut

Image Courtesy of Goodreads

 

Calling all Vonnegut fans! You can expect to see his novel Bluebeard coming to the big screen on October 29th. Little else is known about this project as yet, but we’re super excited to see who will star as Vonnegut’s reclusive painter protagonist Rabo Karabekian! 

 

9. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

 

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Image Courtesy of IMDB

 

The New York Times touted this YA book as perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars and Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park, and judging by how well TFIOS did at the box office, we’re guessing this tale of two teens helping each other through their respective problems will be a hit. Set to star Elle Fanning in the role of Violet, a teen struggling with the death of her sister, the film will be released on an undisclosed date in 2018. 

 

10. Ophelia by Lisa Klein

 

Ophelia by Lisa Klein

Image Courtesy of Goodreads

 

Shakespeare fans can look forward to Klein’s retelling of the classic story of Hamlet from the point of view of Ophelia, which will hit screens on an as-yet unknown date in 2018. The cast includes Daisy Ridley, Naomi Watts, Clive Owen and Tom Felton as Shakespeare’s classic characters battling for love and revenge in the kingdom of Elisnore.

 

Featured Image Courtesy of Goodreads