Tag: Epic

5 Sensational Books About Women In Sports

When you need a little inspiration, there’s nothing quite like picking up a sports book and reading those epic speeches, living vicariously through those epic moments, and reveling in the epic victories. And when you can relate to these fantastic athletes, the awesomeness is all the sweeter. Here are some books about women in sports for all the inspiration you could ever need.

Image Via Amazon

1. The Match: Althea Gibson & Angela Buxton: How Two Outsiders—One Black, the Other Jewish—Forged a Friendship and Made Sports History by Bruce Schoenfeld

This is a story about encountering prejudice and exclusion, and about an ultimate triumph. Althea Gibson, the daughter of sharecroppers who was born in the American South and grew up in Harlem, met Angela Buxton, the granddaughter of Russian Jews, at a tennis exhibition match in India. Despite their athletic prowess, they were excluded from the other tennis players at Wimbledon in 1956. In a truly remarkable and amazing story, they decided to team up and earn an epic victory. Seriously, go read this book!

Image Via Amazon

2. In the Water They Can’t See You Cry: A Memoir by Amanda Beard with Rebecca Paley

For an intense and heart-wrenching story, you need to read In the Water They Can’t See You Cry. This is the story of Amanda Beard, who won two silvers and a gold medal at the Olympics at just fourteen-year-olds. The pressure of the public eye, driven from a place of admiration and later sex, Beard struggled with mental health, depression, bulimia, and drugs and alcohol. In this book, Beard tells her story of finding strength within herself and learning to live. This raw and relentless story will utterly enthrall you. Go read it.

Image Via Amazon

3. Under the Lights and In The Dark: Untold Stories of Women’s Soccer by Gwendolyn Oxenham

Under the Lights and In The Dark is a compelling collection of stories about female soccer players from across the world. From the intriguing story of Portland Thorns player Allie Long’s training in an underground men’s team in New York City to the enthralling tale of English national Fara Williams hiding her homelessness from her teammates. And that’s just the beginning. For some truly inspiring stories about some definitely admirable women, Under the Lights and In The Dark: Untold Stories of Women’s Soccer will absolutely deliver.

Image Via Amazon

4. A Life Without Limits: A World Champion’s Journey by Chrissie Wellington

Chrissie Wellington is definitely a world champion, both in spirit and because of her epic win in the Ironman World Championship. A complete underdog and unknown in the press, Wellington took the sport by surprise with her skill and athleticism. A Life Without Limits is a really inspirational story about the incredible challenges Wellington faced on her journey and her resiliency in defeating them. Go check it out!

Image Via Amazon

5. On My Own Two Feet: From Losing My Legs to Learning the Dance of Life by Amy Purdy and Michelle Burford

This epically triumphant story is about Amy Purdy, who went from losing both her legs to bacterial meningitis at nineteen to winning a bronze medal for snowboarding and making it to the finale of Dancing With the Stars. Amy’s story is about resilience, big dreams, and finding faith in yourself when the world seems to be against you. Amy’s spectacular spirit and fearsome fortitude is truly inspirational, and you should definitely go read On My Own Two Feet: From Losing My Legs to Learning the Dance of Life!

When the world gets you down, go read one of these inspirational life stories of female athletes and their epic journeys. For stories of resiliency, spirit, passion, ambition, persistence, and strength, these stories are unmatched. Seriously, check them out!

Featured Image Via The Telegraph

Sarah J. Maas Fans: This Queer Sci-Fi Story Explores What Humanity Really Means

Sarah J. Maas fans, take note: there’s a new fantasy queen about to take over your reading life. Award-winning screenplay and short story writer Nina Varela’s debut novel Crier’s War is an Own Voices fantasy epic that will have you on the edge of your seat from the first page. It has been described by Booklist as “Rife with mystery, romantic tension, and political intrigue… perfect for readers craving queer fantasy with dense worldbuilding.”

 

 

From debut author Nina Varela comes the first book in an Own Voices, richly imagined epic fantasy duology about an impossible love between two girls—one human, one Made—whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution.

Perfect for fans of Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Curse as well as Game of Thrones and Westworld.

After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their owners’ estates and bent the human race to their will.

Now Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the House of the Sovereign, dreams of avenging her family’s death…by killing the sovereign’s daughter, Lady Crier.

Crier was Made to be beautiful, flawless, and to carry on her father’s legacy. But that was before her betrothal to the enigmatic Scyre Kinok, before she discovered her father isn’t the benevolent king she once admired, and most importantly, before she met Ayla.

Now, with growing human unrest across the land, pressures from a foreign queen, and an evil new leader on the rise, Crier and Ayla find there may be only one path to love: war.

 

Images Via garage26 and HarperCollins

 

I know. Before you ask, here’s the preorder link. And though you definitely don’t need any more convincing after reading that enticing blurb, I’m just going to keep going, because I am EXCITED about this book.

Though LGBTQAI+ representation has undoubtedly become more common in recent years, it is still super exciting to see this representation manifesting in new and different ways, across all types of fiction. This is something Varela is passionate about, telling blog Book Bratz that “Homophobia doesn’t exist in the world of Crier’s War; Crier and Ayla never experience any suffering or oppression because of their sexualities; but I am queer and I live on Earth and some of my world bled through. I don’t want to spoil anything, but I think there’s a certain part of Crier’s story—separate from the romance—that will resonate with queer people.”

And the School Library Journal agrees, noting that Crier’s War is “A lush #OwnVoices fantasy debut with science fiction elements and LGBTQIA+ representation.” (Sidenote: they also call it “perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass.” Didn’t I say this! Maas fans, I see you.)

But seriously, Crier’s War is already causing a stir, with Kirkus Reviews gushing that “Dizzying political machinations intertwine with a burgeoning romance. The plot zooms ahead with nail-biting tension. A fresh, suspenseful take on the robot apocalypse'” and Tara Sim, author of the Timekeeper Trilogy calling it “a beautiful poem of a book.” And if you know anything about Nina Varela, it really comes as no surprise that she should have written something so beautiful and revolutionary.

Don’t miss your chance to catch Nina Varela IRL at the following locations next month!

  • Saturday, October 5th, The Ripped Bodice with Audrey Coulthurst, Los Angeles, CA
  • Saturday, October 12th, Tattered Cover with Casey McQuiston, Denver, CO
  • Friday, October 18th, Books Inc. Opera Plaza with Tara Sim, San Francisco, CA

And find her online on her website ninavarela.com, Twitter, and Instagram!

Dog Caught Destroying Book about…Dog Training

Life’s not without a sense of irony it seems.

YouTube user Eldermisanthropy22 came home after a long day at school to find his copy of Guide to a Well-Behaved Dog torn up and strewn across the floor. The culprit? His new dog, who seems to be more ill-behaved than well-behaved.

 

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jeCLih2FTCo&w=791&h=498]

 

According to Eldermisanthropy22, his dog was not too excited about being cooped up all day without a trip to the park. But don’t worry! In the description to the video, he writes that they went “straight to the park to play and get some wiggles out.” How cute! Well, maybe he doesn’t think so now that he has to clean up his eviscerated book!

We’re just glad his dog didn’t get a hold of the rest of his books!

 

 

Featured image from Eldermisanthropy22’s video

‘GoT’ Showrunner Says Cast Only ‘Think’ They Know the Ending!

While the fanbase for Game of Thrones is in a frenzy as the final season looms (under a week away!) the question that remains on everyone’s minds is: how will it end? Theories abound on how the epic fantasy show will reach its much speculated conclusion but surely the cast knows, right? Right? 

According to this article from The Huffington Post  the answer to that is: Maybe not. In an interview, co-showrunner David Benioff told reporters that the actors working on the show ‘think’ they know how it ends. He goes on to say the higher ups have been employing deception to mask key details, perhaps falsifying scripts or even telling the actors what’s happening onscreen is something completely different than what will end up in the final cut of the show.

 

The co-showrunners of Game of Thrones standing side by side before a podium

Image via The huffington post

The showrunners could just be deliberately lying just to throw fans off of the scent and perhaps to avoid harassment of cast members for potential spoilers but there’s also the really possibility that they could be telling the truth as well. Maybe even the cast members have been kept in the dark about the ending and been fed false information by the showrunners/writing team. Of course, it begs the question of how the showrunners were able to keep their crew in the dark, but with the wonders of editing magic, its certainly possibly!

What do you think? Have the cast of Game of Thrones been kept from knowing too much? How do you think the show will end? Feel free to let us know your theories in the comments!

 

 

Featured Image Via Bustle