Tag: Epic

Sarah J. Maas Fans: This Queer Sci-Fi Story Explores What Humanity Really Means

Sarah J. Maas fans, take note: there’s a new fantasy queen about to take over your reading life. Award-winning screenplay and short story writer Nina Varela’s debut novel Crier’s War is an Own Voices fantasy epic that will have you on the edge of your seat from the first page. It has been described by Booklist as “Rife with mystery, romantic tension, and political intrigue… perfect for readers craving queer fantasy with dense worldbuilding.”

 

 

From debut author Nina Varela comes the first book in an Own Voices, richly imagined epic fantasy duology about an impossible love between two girls—one human, one Made—whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution.

Perfect for fans of Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Curse as well as Game of Thrones and Westworld.

After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their owners’ estates and bent the human race to their will.

Now Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the House of the Sovereign, dreams of avenging her family’s death…by killing the sovereign’s daughter, Lady Crier.

Crier was Made to be beautiful, flawless, and to carry on her father’s legacy. But that was before her betrothal to the enigmatic Scyre Kinok, before she discovered her father isn’t the benevolent king she once admired, and most importantly, before she met Ayla.

Now, with growing human unrest across the land, pressures from a foreign queen, and an evil new leader on the rise, Crier and Ayla find there may be only one path to love: war.

 

Images Via garage26 and HarperCollins

 

I know. Before you ask, here’s the preorder link. And though you definitely don’t need any more convincing after reading that enticing blurb, I’m just going to keep going, because I am EXCITED about this book.

Though LGBTQAI+ representation has undoubtedly become more common in recent years, it is still super exciting to see this representation manifesting in new and different ways, across all types of fiction. This is something Varela is passionate about, telling blog Book Bratz that “Homophobia doesn’t exist in the world of Crier’s War; Crier and Ayla never experience any suffering or oppression because of their sexualities; but I am queer and I live on Earth and some of my world bled through. I don’t want to spoil anything, but I think there’s a certain part of Crier’s story—separate from the romance—that will resonate with queer people.”

And the School Library Journal agrees, noting that Crier’s War is “A lush #OwnVoices fantasy debut with science fiction elements and LGBTQIA+ representation.” (Sidenote: they also call it “perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass.” Didn’t I say this! Maas fans, I see you.)

But seriously, Crier’s War is already causing a stir, with Kirkus Reviews gushing that “Dizzying political machinations intertwine with a burgeoning romance. The plot zooms ahead with nail-biting tension. A fresh, suspenseful take on the robot apocalypse'” and Tara Sim, author of the Timekeeper Trilogy calling it “a beautiful poem of a book.” And if you know anything about Nina Varela, it really comes as no surprise that she should have written something so beautiful and revolutionary.

Don’t miss your chance to catch Nina Varela IRL at the following locations next month!

  • Saturday, October 5th, The Ripped Bodice with Audrey Coulthurst, Los Angeles, CA
  • Saturday, October 12th, Tattered Cover with Casey McQuiston, Denver, CO
  • Friday, October 18th, Books Inc. Opera Plaza with Tara Sim, San Francisco, CA

And find her online on her website ninavarela.com, Twitter, and Instagram!

Dog Caught Destroying Book about…Dog Training

Life’s not without a sense of irony it seems.

YouTube user Eldermisanthropy22 came home after a long day at school to find his copy of Guide to a Well-Behaved Dog torn up and strewn across the floor. The culprit? His new dog, who seems to be more ill-behaved than well-behaved.

 

 

According to Eldermisanthropy22, his dog was not too excited about being cooped up all day without a trip to the park. But don’t worry! In the description to the video, he writes that they went “straight to the park to play and get some wiggles out.” How cute! Well, maybe he doesn’t think so now that he has to clean up his eviscerated book!

We’re just glad his dog didn’t get a hold of the rest of his books!

 

 

Featured image from Eldermisanthropy22’s video

‘GoT’ Showrunner Says Cast Only ‘Think’ They Know the Ending!

While the fanbase for Game of Thrones is in a frenzy as the final season looms (under a week away!) the question that remains on everyone’s minds is: how will it end? Theories abound on how the epic fantasy show will reach its much speculated conclusion but surely the cast knows, right? Right? 

According to this article from The Huffington Post  the answer to that is: Maybe not. In an interview, co-showrunner David Benioff told reporters that the actors working on the show ‘think’ they know how it ends. He goes on to say the higher ups have been employing deception to mask key details, perhaps falsifying scripts or even telling the actors what’s happening onscreen is something completely different than what will end up in the final cut of the show.

 

The co-showrunners of Game of Thrones standing side by side before a podium

Image via The huffington post

The showrunners could just be deliberately lying just to throw fans off of the scent and perhaps to avoid harassment of cast members for potential spoilers but there’s also the really possibility that they could be telling the truth as well. Maybe even the cast members have been kept in the dark about the ending and been fed false information by the showrunners/writing team. Of course, it begs the question of how the showrunners were able to keep their crew in the dark, but with the wonders of editing magic, its certainly possibly!

What do you think? Have the cast of Game of Thrones been kept from knowing too much? How do you think the show will end? Feel free to let us know your theories in the comments!

 

 

Featured Image Via Bustle