Tag: dr seuss

13 Magical Quotes For National Magic Day

Whether you plan to take on the night or hang at home with some horrifyingly good reads, here are 13 magically inspired quotes to put you in the best of spirits for this wicked holiday.

 

 

 

A well-composed book is a magic carpet on which we are wafted to a world that we cannot enter in any other way.

― Caroline Gordon, American Novelist and Literary Critic

 

Image result for magic carpet gif"

Image via weheartit

 

Words! Mere words! How terrible they were! How clear, and vivid, and cruel! One could not escape from them. And yet what a subtle magic there was in them! They seemed to be able to give a plastic form to formless things, and to have a music of their own as sweet as that of viol or of lute. Mere words! Was there anything so real as words?

― Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray

 

 

The world is full of magic things, patiently waiting for our senses to grow sharper.

― W.B. Yeats, Irish Poet

 

Image result for song of the sea gif"

Image via giphy

 

Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it.
Boldness has genius, power and magic in it!

― John Anster, The First Part of Goethe’s Faust

 

 

We do not need magic to transform our world. We carry all the power we need inside ourselves already.

 

― J.K. Rowling, known for Harry Potter

 

Image result for magic gif"

Image via giphy

 

Wishes are false. Hope is true. Hope makes its own magic.

― Laini Taylor, Daughter of Smoke & Bone

 

Image result for magic gif"

Image via gifer

 

…disbelief in magic can force a poor soul into believing in government and business….

― Tom Robbins, Even Cowgirls Get the Blues

 

 

He liked the mere act of reading, the magic of turning scratches on a page into words inside his head.

― John Green, An Abundance of Katherines

 

 

Oh the places you’ll go! There is fun to be done! There are points to be scored. There are games to be won. And the magical things you can do with that ball will make you the winning-est winner of all.

― Dr. Seuss, Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

 

Image result for howl's moving castle gif"

Image via giphy

 

Sometimes its necessary to embrace the magic, to find out what’s real in life, and in one’s own heart.

― Sarah Addison Allen, First Frost

 

 

Magic exists. Who can doubt it, when there are rainbows and wildflowers, the music of the wind and the silence of the stars? Anyone who has loved has been touched by magic. It is such a simple and such an extraordinary part of the lives we live.

― Nora Roberts, American Romance Author

 

 

I address you all tonight for who you truly are: wizards, mermaids, travelers, adventurers, and magicians. You are the true dreamers.

― Brian Selznick, The Invention of Hugo Cabret

 

 

And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.

― Roald Dahl, known for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

 

Image result for magic gif"

Image via rebloggy

 

Happy Halloween and National Magic Day!

 

Featured Image via Research Center

cover of Dr Seuss's Horse Museum

3 Books We Can’t Wait for This Year

It’s impossible to read all the books ever written, but lucky we don’t need to. We just have to read these books coming our way!

And the books we already own but haven’t read…but book problems, am I right?

 

Image result for book news

Image Via Pencil Pocket

 

3: Horse Museum by Dr. Seuss

 

Image Via Publishersweekly

A new Dr. Seuss book is going to hit shelves on September 3, 2019, marking the second time a Dr. Seuss book has been published posthumously since 2015’s What Pet Should I Get? 

The manuscript and sketches for book appear to have been discovered in the late author’s La Jolla home around the same time What Pet Should I Get? was discovered, but now illustrator Andrew Joyner is set to complete the author’s unfinished sketches.

statement by Random House reveals that the story will take younger riders on a journey with a friendly horse touring an art museum with illustrations “combined throughout with full-color photographic reproductions of famous horse artwork by Pablo Picasso, George Stubbs, Rosa Bonheur, Alexander Calder, Jacob Lawrence, Deborah Butterfield, Franz Marc, Jackson Pollock…” and will features “[c]ameo appearances by classic Dr. Seuss characters (among them the Cat in the Hat, the Grinch, and Horton the Elephant)…”

With a first printing of 250,000 copies, this fall many readers, both young and old, will return to a Dr. Seuss’s world as it grows just a little bit larger.

 

2. Furious Hours: Murder, Fraud and the Last Trial of Harper Lee by Casey Cep

 

Image result for Furious Hours: Murder, Fraud, and the Last Trial of Harper Lee by Casey Cep

Image Via Penguin Random House

In the vein of In Cold Blood, Casey Cep’s Murder, Fraud, and the Last Trial of Harper Lee is about what Goodreads describes as “[t]he stunning story of an Alabama serial killer and the true-crime book that Harper Lee worked on obsessively in the years after To Kill a Mockingbird“.

It is known that Harper Lee never wrote another book after To Kill A Mocking Bird. Go Set a Watchmen was confirmed to be the first draft of her literary classic, so this book has the potential to both dispel myths and paint a clear view on Harper Lee’s life post-publishing this May 7th, 2019.

Ironically, the novel is going to shed light on Harper Lee’s trying to write her next great American novel – a Gothic crime drama – but never succeeding.

 

  1. Cari Mora by Thomas Harris

 

Image result for cari mora thomas harris
Image Via Goodreads

With his last book published in December of 2006, Thomas Harris has been quiet on us. Now he returns on May 16th with Cari Mora. His second novel not featuring his infamous Dr. Hannibal “The Cannibal” Lecter (his first novel, Black Sunday, didn’t feature the character when it debuted in 1975), Cari Mora is described by Tampa Bay as being about “Cari Mora, caretaker of the house, has escaped from the violence in her native country. She stays in Miami on a wobbly Temporary Protected Status, subject to the iron whim of ICE. She works at many jobs to survive. Beautiful, marked by war, Cari catches the eye of Hans-Peter as he closes in on the treasure. But Cari Mora has surprising skills, and her will to survive has been tested before.”

With its titular female character and themes of immigration, we can’t wait to read the sixth novel from the man whose kept us up late at night since the mid-seventies.

 

 

Featured Image Via Pencil Pocket

Lost Dr. SeussBook ‘Horse Museum’ to Be Published

Theodor Seuss Geisel, A.K.A. Dr. Seuss, has over sixty children’s books published, and long after his passing, adaptations of his work continue to be made year after year.

 

Dr Seuss looking at camera smiling, wearing glasses

Photograph of Dr. Seuss. | Image via Goodreads.

 

But who could’ve guessed that the beloved children’s author and illustrator would have one more book up his sleeve, or perhaps in his hat? To be released this upcoming September Dr. Seuss’ new book is entitled Horse Museum.

 

Image via Amazon.

 

A never-before-published Dr. Seuss book about creating and looking at art!

Based on a manuscript and sketches discovered in 2013, this book is like a visit to a museum—with a horse as your guide!

Explore how different artists have seen horses, and maybe even find a new way of looking at them yourself. Discover full-color photographic art reproductions of pieces by Picasso, George Stubbs, Rosa Bonheur, Alexander Calder, Jacob Lawrence, Deborah Butterfield, Franz Marc, Jackson Pollock, and many others—all of which feature a horse! Young readers will find themselves delightfully transported by the engaging equines as they learn about the creative process and how to see art in new ways.

 

An adorable way to introduce the arts to little kids! They all go through a horse phase at some point (I know I did). The book is written by Seuss,  however acclaimed illustrator Andrew Joyner illustrated it!

 

Andrew Joyner looking at camera, wearing glasses. Gray, wavy hair and a patterned shirt beneath black jacket. Standing in front of ivy covered wall.

Photograph of Andrew Joyner. | Image via ABC Education.

 

Joyner took inspiration from Seuss’ original sketches and, while maintaining the “Seussian” style, creates a look that is all his own. So if you’re a diehard fan of Dr. Seuss, or just a parent or teacher looking for a new book to share with your kids, then check out Horse Museum! It’ll be coming out September 3rd of this year.

 

 

Featured Image via StMU History Media