Tag: beach

Bookstr’s Three to Read This Week 6/27/19

The weather’s not the only thing getting hotter! This week, we’ve got some highly-acclaimed summer crime novels that simmer with drama and tension—unreliable narrators, creative play with chronology, paranoia, and rich character development that’s guaranteed to knock you off your feet (that is, if the beach waves don’t get you first). Just because YOU’RE relaxing doesn’t mean your beach read has to be, and these heart-pounding thrillers will leave you at a loss for words… unless the words, of course, are “more please!”

And let’s not forget, it’s still LGBT+ Pride Month: this week, we’re bringing you one of the first #ownvoices non-binary coming out stories to hit the shelves. While Bookstr aspires to celebrate diverse voices every month, we’re especially excited to use this time to draw particular attention to identities that may remain misunderstood even within the LGBT+ community. So whether you’re reading on an airplane, beach, or even your commute home, we’ve got three stories that are guaranteed to captivate.

 

 

 

 

 

Check out Bookstr’s Three to Read, the three books we’ve picked for you to read this week!

 

 

OUR HOT PICK
The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda

 

'The Last Houseguest' by Megan Miranda

 

 

Synopsis:

Littleport, Maine is like two separate towns: a vacation paradise for wealthy holidaymakers and a simple harbour community for the residents who serve them. Friendships between locals and visitors are unheard of – but that’s just what happened with Avery Greer and Sadie Loman.

Each summer for a decade the girls are inseparable – until Sadie is found dead. When the police rule the death a suicide, Avery can’t help but feel there are those in the community, including a local detective and Sadie’s brother Parker, who blame her. Someone knows more than they’re saying, and Avery is intent on clearing her name before the facts get twisted against her.

Why?

Megan Miranda’s All the Missing Girls dazzled critics: a New York Times Book Review “Editor’s Choice,” the smash-hit bestseller gleaned favorable reviews from The Wall Street Journal, Refinery29, Cosmopolitan, Publisher’s Weekly, and Booklist. Now, Miranda is back at it with her next searing summer thriller: a Publisher’s Weekly starred review admires Miranda’s “clever, stylish mystery that will seize readers like a riptide.” Like her debut, this novel plays with time in a creative and compelling way, switching back and forth between 2017 and 2018 to keep up the palpable narrative tension. Unlike many thrillers, this one packs some serious commentary—the novel deftly explores the class tensions that complicate both the criminal investigation and the nature of Sadie & Avery’s friendship. This thriller is sure to thrill you with its character development and richly-realized web of secrets!

 

OUR BEACH READ
Man of the Year by Caroline Louise Walker

 

'Man of the Year' Caroline Louise Walker

 

 

Synopsis:

Beware the Man of the Year. You may praise him, resent him, even want to be him: but beneath the elegant trappings that define him, danger looms. Caroline Louise Walker’s stunning debut novel, for fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinner and Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door, delves into the increasingly paranoid mind of a man whose life as the most upstanding of citizens hides a relentlessly dark heart.

Dr. Robert Hart, Sag Harbor’s just-named Man of the Year, is the envy of his friends and neighbors. His medical practice is thriving. He has a beautiful old house and a beautiful new wife and a beautiful boat docked in the village marina. Even his wayward son, Jonah, is back on track, doing well at school, finally worthy of his father’s attentions. So when Jonah’s troubled college roommate, Nick, needs a place to stay for the summer, Hart and his wife generously offer him their guest house. A win-win: Jonah will have someone to hang with, and his father can bask in the warm glow of his own generosity.

But when he begins to notice his new houseguest getting a little too close to his wife, the good doctor’s veneer begins to crack. All the little lies Robert tells—harmless falsehoods meant to protect everything he holds dear—begin to mount. Before long, he’s embroiled in a desperate downward spiral, destroying the lives that stand in his way. It’s only the women in his life—his devoted office manager, his friends, his wife—who can clearly see the truth.

Biting and timely, Man of the Year races along at an electric pace, with a wicked twist that you won’t see coming.

Why?

This acclaimed summer thriller boldly flaunts its credentials: Booklist, Refinery29, and Publisher’s Weekly features and favorable reviews. Coming from a debut author, the novel Kirkus Reviews calls “a darkly beguiling summer mystery that exposes the shaky foundations of a complicated family” is all the more impressive. While some thrillers focus solely on the plot, Walker’s debut is deeply-character driven, offering the reader a tantalizingly voyeuristic look into the mental unraveling of a man who seems, superficially, to have (and be) it all. Until he doesn’t seem that way at all. Rife with plot twists, the novel follows an awful protagonist whose awfulness, frighteningly, is secret to most of the characters in the story. This leaves readers with an intense and delicious sense of dramatic irony, both wondering (and dreading!) when these malignant qualities will show themselves unambiguously. With a relentless plot and masterful analysis of character, this book is the perfect vacation read. But be careful—your beach umbrella won’t be the only thing blown away.

 

OUR DARK HORSE
i wISH yOU alL THE beST BY mASON dEAVER

 

'I Wish You All the Best' by Mason Deaver

 

Synopsis:

When Ben De Backer comes out to their parents as nonbinary, they’re thrown out of their house and forced to move in with their estranged older sister, Hannah, and her husband, Thomas, whom Ben has never even met. Struggling with an anxiety disorder compounded by their parents’ rejection, they come out only to Hannah, Thomas, and their therapist and try to keep a low profile in a new school.

But Ben’s attempts to survive the last half of senior year unnoticed are thwarted when Nathan Allan, a funny and charismatic student, decides to take Ben under his wing. As Ben and Nathan’s friendship grows, their feelings for each other begin to change, and what started as a disastrous turn of events looks like it might just be a chance to start a happier new life.

At turns heartbreaking and joyous, I Wish You All the Best is both a celebration of life, friendship, and love, and a shining example of hope in the face of adversity.

Why?

It’s LGBT+ Pride Month and, while rainbows may be visible tacked up in a few shop windows, even many well-meaning allies remain unaware of the nuance in LGBT+ identities. While all such identities are underrepresented in the media, non-binary identities are especially absent from many LGBT+ narratives. As readers, we’re fortunate enough to have had a selection of coming-out stories; however, most of these titles pertain to sexual orientation rather than gender identity. Mason Deaver’s thoughtful #ownvoices debut offers us one of the first non-binary coming out stories available today, in the process challenging many stereotypes about non-binary and LGBT+ people in general. NB protagonist Ben’s bisexuality reaffirms that bisexuality is not trans-exclusionary, a nagging (and false!) misconception of the bi identity. And although Ben’s parents are not supportive, the novel is largely optimistic, focusing on Ben’s coming-of-age rather than their suffering. As Deaver said on BookCon’s Read With Pride panel, “queer joy is revolution.” (Click the link for my article profiling Deaver and other hot new LGBT+ authors!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

All In-Text Images Via Amazon.
Featured Image Via PhotoCollage.

When you give your friend a book

Lire à la Plage: French Seaside Libraries Serve Book-Loving Beach-Goers!

Do you see the redness in the featured image? Yasss! it’s a sign of Lire à la Plage, a booming services offered on the French coasts over the last decade. 

 

The service is offered by twelve French resorts where authorities have set up library beach-huts with orange slanted roof and red beach chairs. Open every day between 2pm and 7pm, from July 7 to Aug 26, each of the wooden huts has been equipped with 1,000 books, novels, poetry, and manga, for beach-goers of all ages.

 

Since Normandy launched “Lire à la Plage” (Read At The Beach) project in 2005, the fantastic idea has prevailed and boomed in France and successfully attracts beach-going bookworms from all over the world (with their considerate translated versions). The Normandy site has attracted 38,000 bookworms last year, and the Herault site, the south of France, has attracted 21,000 readers last year, according to The Straight Times.

 

There’s only one rule in Lire à la Plage: the books cannot be taken off-site but can be reserved. Let the two librarians know which book you are reading and they will keep it aside from the open shelf so that you can enjoy the story the next day.

 

1

Image via Seine-Maritime

 

2

Image via Seine-Maritime

 

3

Image via Seine-Maritime

 

 

Check this intro clip out. Gosh, I love to see the red brushes over the French coasts. I hope New York has one soon!

 

 

Further readings about beach and books:

5 Reasons Why the Beach Is the Best Place to Read

5 Must Have Beach Reads for the Summer

 

 

 

Featured Image via The Local France

book on beach

The Bookworm’s Beach Survival Kit

It is summertime. The weather’s warmed up and every day is (hopefully, fingers crossed) filled with sunshine. That means…
 

Image Via GIPHY

 

It’s beach time!

 

Via GIPHY

 

Here is a list of bookwormy goodness you need for your next trip to the beach!

 

1. This cute book themed duffel bag to hold your book paraphernalia. 

 

duffel bag

Via Etsy

 

2. Adorable tumbler to hold your refreshing drink.

 

etsy

 

Via Etsy

 

3. These flip flops so your toesies can get some sunshine on the walk from your transportation to the perfect spot on the beach.

flip flops

 

Via Groovebags

 

4. Book beach towel because sand is gross.

 

towel

 

Via Social6

 

5. Cute jewelry because you can never be too extra.

 

bracelet thing

Via Etsy

 

6. You might also want to pack some book themed treats, like book shaped cookies!

 

book cookies

Via RoamingRosie

 

7. Your book! Here is a little suggestion~ Murder as a Fine Art by David Morrell

 

cover art

Via Amazon

 

Enjoy your next trip to the beach!

 

Feature Image Via MapQuestTravel