Tag: awardnews

Author pics and 5 Under 35 badge

National Book Foundation’s 5 Under 35 All Women!

The National Book Foundation’s 5 Under 35 list has just dropped, and all of this year’s honorees are women. The honorees were selected by previous National Book Award winners, finalists, and previously recognized 5 Under 35 writers. In order to be considered, the writers must have published their first book (either a novel or collection of stories) within the past five years and must be, of course, under the age of thirty-five. Here’s the list of this year’s honorees:


Lesley Nneka Arimah, author of What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky: Stories (Riverhead / Penguin Random House)

Selector: Chris Bachelder, 2016 National Book Award Finalist for Fiction


Halle Butler, author of Jillian (Curbside Splendor)

Selector: Lydia Millet, 2016 National Book Award Longlist for Fiction


Zinzi Clemmons, author of What We Lose (Viking / Penguin Random House)

Selector: Angela Flournoy, 2015 National Book Award Finalist for Fiction and 5 Under 35 honoree


Leopoldine Core, author of When Watched: Stories (Penguin Press / Penguin Random House)

Selector: Karan Mahajan, 2016 National Book Award Finalist for Fiction


Weike Wang, author of Chemistry (Knopf / Penguin Random House)

Selector: Sherman Alexie, 2007 National Book Award Winner for Young People’s Literature


5 Under 35 author pics

Image Via National Book Foundation


Honorees will receive a $1,000 prize at a ceremony in November. Previous 5 Under 35 honorees include Kirstin Valdez Quade, Téa Obreht, Karen Russell, Claire Vaye Watkins, Danielle Evans, Phil Klay, and Yaa Gyasi.


National Book Foundation Executive Director Lisa Lucas said in a statement:


For the last twelve years, the National Book Foundation has been committed to highlighting the exceptional talent of emerging writers and to amplifying new voices. At a moment in which we are having the necessary conversations surrounding the underrepresentation of female voices, it’s a thrill to see this list of tremendous women chosen organically by our selectors. These writers and their work represent an incredibly bright future for the world of literary fiction.


Feature Images Via Catapult, Chicago Tribune, Vogue, Whiting Foundation, Harvard, and National Book Foundation

Game of Thrones

Here’s Why ‘Game of Thrones’ Got the Emmy Axe This Year

We’ve all been witness to the sweeping success that Game of Thrones has received over the years it’s been running.


For the last six years, GoT was either nominated or totally cleaned up their Emmy categories (as they rightfully deserve). Last year they totaled twenty-three nominations. This year? Zero. Game of Thrones won’t be receiving anything.


Who could permit such injustice!?


Here’s the deal: the Emmy Awards have a strict set of rules and guidelines. Among those rules, they have a tight schedule for what counts as ‘eligible’. When it comes to the 2017 Emmys, shows would’ve had to premiere between June 1st, 2016 to May 31st, 2017 to be considered. The sixth season premiered April 26th, 2017. Even if some of the season’s episodes play during that time frame, they’re seen as ‘hanging episodes’ and aren’t counted.


Sadness… / Via Giphy


Everyone is disappointed about GoT’s off timing. According to Bustle, the show will definitely be eligible for the 2018 Emmys. Altogether they’ve received 38 awards, so we can only imagine more next year for this year’s jaw-dropping season. The filming for season eight has already begun, so better timing next year we hope. Until then…


Image Via Giphy



Feature Image Via BBC