Ten Short Story Collections to Fit Into Your Busy Schedule

Ten Short Story Collections to Fit Into Your Busy Schedule

Let’s face it, one of the greatest challenges facing avid readers is carving out the time to sit down and enjoy a good book.  While it can be frustrating to only read a few pages of a big novel in between one daily obligation and another, short stories can provide a fitting alternative.  Not only are they suited to quick emersions in a literary world, but some of the best literature being published today is in the form of short story collections.  If you’re not well versed on short story collections, or if you’re looking for some suggestions, we’ve compiled …

Quiz: Do You Know These Literary Addresses?

Quiz: Do You Know These Literary Addresses?

What often draws us into a novel is the detail with which the author creates the world of the characters. Some of these details can include descriptions of setting, time period, or the rules of a newly invented world altogether. One detail that many authors include is the address of their protagonists. If you’ve ever wondered how well you know famous literary addresses from some of your favorite books, take our quiz and find out!   Image courtesy of http://bit.ly/1kqIpQg

8 Musicians Who Are Also Novelists

8 Musicians Who Are Also Novelists

For fans of The Smiths, Morrissey is a lyrical and vocal legend. Since the band broke up in 1987, Morrissey has gone on to have a distinguished and acclaimed solo career that has recently ventured into literary terrain with his first work of fiction.  Though fans were excited about the prospect of a novel from one of their favorite musicians, reviews of the book, List of The Lost, have been overwhelmingly unfavorable.     This got us thinking about other musicians who have written novels. Are they all bad? We don’t think so! Check out our list of eight musicians turned novelists …

7 Sherlock Holmes Spin-Offs

7 Sherlock Holmes Spin-Offs

It’s a rare, but spectacular thing—a fictional character comes to life for millions of readers worldwide. A truly remarkable character, like a catchy song, can be difficult to get out of your head and/or heart.  One of the most beloved characters of all time, Sherlock Holmes, has appeared many times outside of an Arthur Conan Doyle novel. He’s been featured in movies, televisions shows, and, of course, books. Here is a list of seven books by authors so taken by the famous detective and his companions that they were compelled to add an episode to the ongoing saga of his life and …

Drumroll, Please: Announcing the Man Booker Prize Shortlist

Drumroll, Please: Announcing the Man Booker Prize Shortlist

The shortlisted authors for the Man Group’s annual Man Booker Prize for Fiction were revealed this morning in London. This year’s six nominees are Tom McCarthy, Marlon James, Chigozie Obioma, Sunjeev Sahota, Anne Tyler, and Hanya Yanagihara. The list of authors marks the most culturally diverse roster yet.  A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James   The Fishermen by Chigozie Obioma The Year of the Runaways by Sunjeev Sahota A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara Satin Island by Tom McCarthy These authors have all brought wonderful novels to the table. Jamaican author Marlon James makes the list for his novel A Brief History of Seven …