LOSS, HISTORICAL ROM-COM, AND MYSTERY- THREE TO READ

Hey, booklovers, and welcome back to this weeks Three to Read! Now that the flowers are finally bloomed, it’s time to get outside and find a nice shady spot to read a new book. I have three amazing recommendations for you that will be a perfect way to enjoy the weather. Now sit back, relax, and listen up, because you are for sure going to want to add these new reads to your TBR!

 

 

HOT PICK

AFTERLIFE 

BY JULIA ALVAREZ

 

Afterlife Book Cover
IMAGE VIA AMAZON

 

Synopsis:

Our hot pick of the week is a contemporary adult novel called Afterlife by Julia Alvarez. Afterlife is a beautifully written, short book about life after losing a loved one. Antonia Vega has just retired from the college where she taught English when her beloved husband, Sam, suddenly dies. While she already feels at rock bottom, things only get worse when her sister, Izzy, disappears. As we watch Antonia pinball between each crisis, we learn important lessons about grief, family, and how sometimes putting yourself first is okay. This is a complex and moving story of love and loss which is ultimately life affirming. If you’re looking for some comfort during a hard time, this is the book for you.

 

Why:

This is the first adult novel in almost fifteen years by the internationally bestselling author of In the Time of the Butterflies and How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents. It was claimed to be one of the most anticipated reads of the year by The New York Times, The Washington Post, and more. Besides that, this book is relatable to everyone considering most of us know what it’s like to lose a loved one. So, why not give it a try?

 

coffee shop

to love and to loathe

by martha waters

 

To Love and to Loathe Book Cover
IMAGE VIA AMAZON

 

Synopsis:

This weeks coffee shop read is a historical romance called To Love and To Loathe by Martha Waters. This is the second installment in her Regency Vows series, but it can be read as a stand alone. The plot revolves around a widowed Diana Templeton and Jeremy Marquess of Willingham, members of the English High Society who are both notorious for their bickering and flirting. When Jeremy’s manhood is questioned in the bedroom, he asks Diana to help him soothe his ego by letting him test his skills. Diana gets a lover with no strings attached, but what happens when feelings get in the way? Pick up this light hearted, fast read today and enjoy the chemistry between these frenemies.

 

Why:

The author of the hilarious To Have and to Hoax returns with this charming, witty, and swoon-worthy novel. Booklist claims this novel has all of Martha Water’s signature “cheeky charm” that many know and love. If you’re looking for a rom-com set in historical times, this is the book for you!

 

Dark horse

the murder game 

by carrie doyle

 

The Murder Game Book Cover
IMAGE VIA AMAZON

 

Synopsis:

This weeks dark horse is a young adult mystery thriller called The Murder Game by Carrie Doyle. Luke Chase didn’t mean to get caught up solving the mystery of Mrs. Heckler’s murder. He just wanted to spend alone time with the new British girl at their boarding school, little did he know that someone would end up dead right next to their rendezvous spot in the woods and his best friend and roommate would be the one to blame. With suspects aplenty and a past that’s anything but innocent, Luke Chase reluctantly calls on his famous survival skills to solve the mystery and find the true killer. Jump into this dark, fun, fast read, and get ready for a wild adventure.

 

Why:

What if your roommate and best friend killed one of your teachers? Or, what if they didn’t do it, but they are being framed and you’re the only one that could help…..would you? This novel is perfect for fans of A Study in Charlotte. This novel will give you a sense of adventure, but is also filled with a dark mystery and suspense.

 

CHECK OUT THE FULL VIDEO BY CLICKING HERE!

Please make sure to like, comment, share, and let us know what you’ll be reading next. See you all next week for our next “Three to Read!”