image

If You Loved ‘The Girl on the Train’, Read These

Suspenseful and psychological thrillers are selling in droves. The success of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train in addition to their movie deals have been through the roof. If you can’t get enough of these mystery tales that take you on a wild ride, then here’s a list of books that you also won’t be able to put down. 

1) The Secret History by Donna Tartt 

 

No one could ever expect the trajectory of Donna Tartt’s first novel: both its success and plot were, and still are, shocking. The Secret History is an intellectual mystery about a group of friends who kill someone, but who and why? The characters are mesmerizing, to say the least.

2) Strangers on a Train by Patricia Highsmith

 

It’s people on a train; that’s why we love Hawkin’s thriller, right? All jokes aside, this mystery-thriller is shocking, and freaky. Nothing’s scarier than seemingly average, innocent people behaving in immoral, abnormal ways. Highsmith is known for her expertise in noir fiction, and Strangers on a Train displays why. 

3) Apple Tree Yard by Louise Doughty

 

If you liked the griddiness, never ending bad-judgment, and sexual intrigue behind The Girl on the Train, then Doughty’s suspenseful novel is perfect. Extramarital affairs turn criminal in this psychological thriller after one woman makes a rash decision that leaves her behind bars.  

4) The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

 

Ware is well know for twisted, sinister hit, In a Dark, Dark Wood. Now it’s time for The Woman in Cabin 10 to shine. After an assignment that requires her to spend a week on a luxury cruise, journalist, Lo Blacklock, experiences the highs and lows of travelling at sea. Stuck on a boat, seeing things that no one else is seeing, with frigid ocean air- sounds fun!  

5) And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

 

You’ve probably heard of this Christie classic, but if you haven’t read it, stop everything and do it now! Christie is all about plot twists, red herrings, and murder mysteries that leave your mind completely boggled. This classic is no exception, in fact, it’s quite possible her best mystery-thriller… 

6) The Dinner by Herman Koch

 

Dinner at a fancy restaruant in Amsterdam doesn’t sound like the most enthralling plot- but rest assured, Koch’s contemportary mystery will leave you… pleasantly unsettled. Two couples meet and discuss the banalityies of life, as well as the horrifying act their teenage son’s committed together- caught on camera. All right, that’s enough information for now.

7) Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane

 

Shutter Island was a great movie. Why? Becuase the book it’s based off of is even better! If you look up ‘psychological thriller’ in the dictionary, it should simply say “Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane”. An isolated island, home of the Ashecliffe Hospital for the criminally insane, and a missing patient is a recipe for one seriously suspenseful story.