If You Like WandaVision, Read These Books

“What is grief, if not love persevering?” – Vision

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ll know that the final episode of Marvel’s mini-series, WandaVision, came out yesterday. If you’re anything like me, you’ve been glued to the TV for weeks, and right about now you’re starting to question what you’re supposed to do with your life now that it’s over. Well, lucky for you, I’ve got some ideas. Here are five books that you should read if you loved WandaVision.

 

 

*Warning for Minor Spoilers Ahead*

 

1. The Comics

 

IMAGES VIA GOCOLLECT

 

Okay, so I’m going to break the rules right off the bat. The first book on this list… isn’t a book. If you’ve been loving WandaVision, a great place to start reading is the Marvel Comics! And don’t worry, I know that sounds a little overwhelming, but I’ve got you covered. Here are the 4 most relevant Marvel comics to read:

  1. X-Men #4 – Wanda’s first comic appearance.
  2. Avengers #10 – Includes background on Agatha Harkness.
  3. Avengers Disassembled – Shows the extent of Wanda’s rage and powers.
  4. House of M – Wanda goes mad with grief.

 

2. A Monster Calls

 

IMAGE VIA GOODREADS

 

“There is not always a good guy. Nor is there always a bad one. Most people are somewhere in between.” -Patrick Ness

A boy named Conor has nightmares every night, except his nightmares are always the same. He is haunted by his mother’s sickness and declining health. Conor’s fear and grief take a physical shape when a monster appears at the boy’s window. He is confronted with his deepest pain and forced to face it head-on.

Like WandaVision, A Monster Calls uses magical realism to display grief and pain in a beautiful and heart-wrenching way. Both of these stories show an accurate representation of complex emotions through fantastical elements.

 

 

3. The Ocean at the End of the Lane

 

IMAGE VIA GOODREADS

 

“I saw the world I had walked since my birth and I understood how fragile it was, that the reality I knew was a thin layer of icing on a great dark birthday cake.” – Neil Gaiman

In The Ocean at the End of the Lane, A middle-aged man attends a funeral in the town he grew up in. He sits by a pond at the end of the road near where his home used to stand. The man is drawn to the places he used to visit as a child and remembers the strange things he experienced like meeting a remarkable girl named Lettie and her family. His past is oddly frightening and much more dangerous than anyone’s childhood should be.

In WandaVision, we see Wanda revisit experiences from her past that shaped her into the person she is today. These experiences are crucial to understanding Wanda’s identity and role going forward in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. In these ways, WandaVision and The Ocean at the End of the Lane are similar.

 

4. Steelheart

 

IMAGE VIA GOODREADS

 

“I know, better than anyone else, that there are no heroes coming to save us. There are no good Epics. None of them protect us. Power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely.” – Brandon Sanderson

When ordinary people are given superpowers from a strange burst in the sky, only the Reckoners fight against them. These people with superpowers, Epics, become corrupt in their desire to rule. David seeks out Steelheart, an Epic who is said to be invincible.

With superheroes, elements of multiple dimensions, and the corrupting influence of too much power; Steelheart is similar to WandaVision in many ways. If you’re looking for a book to read after binging the show, look no further.

 

5. The Darkest Minds

 

IMAGE VIA GOODREADS

 

“The Darkest Minds tend to hide behind the most unlikely faces.” – Alexandra Bracken

Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday with unusual powers. As it turns out, many other children woke up with powers the same day. People are split up based on the powers they possess and the children with the most dangerous powers are sent to “rehabilitation camps.” Ruby and the other children must learn to control their powers and break free from an oppressive government.

This series contains many similar elements to WandaVision. Superpowers, corrupt officials, and the main characters are villainized by others.

 

Featured Image Via Cinemablend