If You Like ‘Raya and the Last Dragon’, Read These Books

Disney’s Raya and the Last Dragon is a reminder of what happens when we allow our differences to tear us apart. Here are 5 books to read if you loved the movie.

If you’ve seen Disney’s Raya and the Last Dragon, then I can only assume that you’re as obsessed as I am. This stunning story about trust had me crying on multiple different occasions, and I know I’m not the only one. This movie is a celebration of East Asian culture and a much-needed reminder of what happens when we allow our differences to tear us apart.

 

 

What follows is a list of five books you should read if you loved Raya and the Last Dragon. But first, here is a list of ways to support Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (AAPI). Anti-Asian hate crimes have been on the rise since the beginning of the pandemic and continue to plague our country. If you consume Asian (or Asian-inspired) art, I urge you to do what you can to give back to the AAPI community right now as they are suffering. Allyship demands more than support; it demands education and action.

 

How to be an ally to the AAPI community:

Information shared by @Lizzy.wong10 on TikTok
1. Attend a Bystander Intervention Workshop
2. Donate to or volunteer for a grassroots AAPI organization in your community
3. Spread and support community-based solutions rather than police based solutions

1. The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

 

IMAGE VIA GOODREADS

 

Inys has been ruled by the House of Berethnet for thousands of years, but the world is divided. The queendom is without an heir, and an ancient enemy awakens.

2. The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang

 

IMAGE VIA GOODREADS

Rin takes the Empire by surprise when she aces the test to enter the Academies. Her upbringing and complexion make it challenging to survive in a nation of prejudice. Once Rin discovers she excels at shamanism, she seeks to understand and control her new powers.

3. Dragon Pearl by Yoon Ha Lee

 

IMAGE VIA GOODREADS

 

Min must hide her family’s secret to protect them. As the latest in a long line of fox spirits, Min pretends to be a normal girl, but when her older brother is accused of abandoning his post in the Space Force, Min follows him in search of the Dragon Pearl.

 

 

4. Shadow of the Fox by Julia Kagawa

 

IMAGE VIA GOODREADS

 

The land of Iwagoto has been in an age of darkness and chaos for a thousand years. Now, people quarrel over the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers, which will grant a single wish.

5. Songs of Insurrection by JC Kang

 

IMAGE VIA GOODREADS

 

Princess Kaiya has a rare gift; she can charm dragons. Her potential goes unnoticed by all except for Prince Hardeep, who believes that her magic could recover the lost art of magic.

 

FEATURED IMAGE VIA COMIC YEARS