Scary books

If You Like Books and Hauntings, You’ll Love These 6 Book Spots

Pretty much all things witchy, ghostly, and supernatural have interested me since I was a little girl, watching Charmed with my mom on the weekends. A secret between me and you: since Netflix, I’ve watched the entirety of Charmed six times over. I’m not a nerd. That’s not nerdy behavior.

 

So, naturally, once the topic of ghosts was pitched I was all about finding the best ghost stories on the internet, specifically those that take place in bookstores or libraries to combine two of my passions: books and ghosts. I’ve found six haunted bookstores and libraries with stories that keep me believing in the supernatural!

 

1. Haslam’s Book Store in St. Petersburg, Florida

 

Haslam's

Image Via TripAdvisor

 

This bookstore was established in 1933 at a house that was built prior, most likely in the 1920s. Many have reported books flying off the shelves and feeling a presence, including someone brushing up against them when there actually isn’t anybody around. People believe that the ghost of author Jack Kerouac, who frequented the store, is the one doing the haunting. He’d  always made sure his books were constantly on the top shelf. People have said that while there are definitely ghosts around, they seem friendly and, if anything, interested in what’s going on. Except for this anonymous poster who has vowed to never return.

 

Haslam's

Image Via Haunted Places

 

2. The Willard Library in Evansville, Indiana 

 

Willard

Image Via Wikipedia 

 

This library has been known as a true site for ghosts that even features an October ghost tour every year. The ghost has been named the Grey Lady and does all things you would expect from your average ghost like turning faucets on and off, flickering lights, and cold spots. This enthusiastic ghost lover chimed in:

 

Willard

Image Via Haunted Pages 

 

3. Peoria Public Library in Illinois

 

Peoria

Image Via Glo

 

The story of this haunting is linked to a supposed curse of the land issued by Mrs. Andrew Gray after her home was foreclosed in 1830. It is said that the first three library directors died under mysterious circumstances and even after the library was demolished and rebuilt in 1966, many ghosts are still tethered to the land. Staff say that along with cold drafts, they hear their names being called in dark hallways and see the ghost of a previous director in the basement. One unenthusiastic patron said:

 

Peoria

Image Via Haunted Pages 

 

4. Rochester Public Library in New York

 

Rochester

Image Via Post-Bulletin

 

I am most excited about this one because it’s close enough to NYC that I can add it to my list of places to visit in the state. This library has been featured in an episode of Ghost Hunters because of reported noises, moans, and figures. One video camera even captured footage of a heavy door opening and closing on its own with nobody around. This ghost connoisseur tells of her experience at the library:

 

Rochester

Image Via Haunted Pages 

 

 

5. Combermere Abbey Library in England 

 

Combermere

Image Via Combermere 

 

This is a famous library that is said to be haunted because of an old picture that was taken of a room that seems to show a shadowy figure of a man sitting in a chair. Now, this one might be a bit of a stretch considering I know nothing about photography, let alone photography of the 1890s, but I believe it’s haunted because it’s cooler that way. The photo is below for any of you photo wizards who can attest to its history. 

 

Combermere

 

…and a close up.

 

Ghost

Photos From Anomalies 

 

6. Moravian Book Shop in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

 

library

Image Via Poets and Libraries 

 

It’s no surprise that the oldest bookstore in America happens to also be haunted. That’s how things work: if the place is hold, it’s ghost-infested. Staff members have reported many sightings of figures who mysteriously vanish, one even saying that they believed there was a shoplifter running around the store, but when he asked other employees, none had seen the person. Many believe that the ghosts are friendly and a bit mischievous. Items in the kitchen go missing, but they promise that the ghost is just having fun as the items are always returned if they ask nicely. This staff member also shared a touching story about how a ghost might have saved the store. 

 

Moravian

Image Via Haunted Pages  

 

Last thing: I haven’t read this book myself, but Tomes of Terror: Haunted Bookstores and Libraries came up a lot in my research so I’ve added it to my seemingly never-ending, constantly-growing list of books to read and you might want to too! 

 

Feature Image Via Gill Arbuthnott