Blackouts, Dangerous Fae, and Hitchcockian Thriller – Three to Read

Hello to all our wonderful book lovers! I’m so excited to share this week’s three to read with you all. Whether you prefer Hot Picks, Beach Reads, or Dark Horses, we have some wonderful new books to add to your TBR. Let’s check them out!

 

 

Hot Pick

These Hollow Vows

by Lexi Ryan

 

IMAGE VIA AMAZON

Synopsis:

Brie hates the fae so much she is willing to starve on the streets living a life of thievery in order to avoid them. Except when her sister is bought by the sadistic king of the Unseelie Court in exchange for a debt, Brie must make a deal in order to save her sister. Now Brie’s mission is to steal three magical relics from the Seelie Court, which means pretending to be the potential bride for Prince Ronan. Teaming up with a group of Unseelie misfits with their own goals, Brie soon finds herself stuck between two kingdoms. Now she must decide which court to trust with her loyalty and her heart.

Why:

The Cruel Prince meets A Court of Thorns and Roses meets The Selection in this sizzling, action-packed fantasy that has one girl stuck between two courts and two dangerously powerful men. Lexi Ryan is a bestselling novelist of over twenty-five romance novels, so you know the romance is going to be hot. If you love Sarah J. Maas and Jennifer Armentrout, you have to pick up this book.

 

 

Beach Read

Blackout

by Dhonielle Clayton, Tiffany D. Jackson, Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, Ashley Woodfolk, Nicola Yoon
IMAGE VIA AMAZON

Synopsis:

When the lights go out, the truth is revealed and relationships blossom for these black teens in New York City. Whether they’re meeting for the first time, they have been friends forever, or they’re resentful exes; love grows, friendships change, and new possibilities are in the air.

Summertime in New York City brings a heatwave that forces all of its residents into darkness. This is a short story collection written by six critically acclaimed, award-winning, and bestselling authors as they charm us with these hilarious and heartwarming stories.

Why:

If you’re looking for a sweet and romantic read for your next quiet night this summer, this collection may just be the right choice for you. Some of our favorite young adult authors, Dhonielle Clayton, Tiffany D. Jackson, Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, Ashley Woodfolk, and Nicola Yoon, worked together to create this beautiful collection of stories that celebrate the beauty of six couples and the unforgettable magic that can be found on a sweltering starry night in the city. They beautifully weave the short stories together with the celebration of Black love all over the world, not just New York City.

 

Dark Horse

The Other Passenger

by Louise Candlish

 

IMAGE VIA AMAZON

Synopsis:

Your life seems perfectly normal. You want for nothing. You commute to work via ferry with your charming neighbor Kit. But one day, Kit doesn’t show up and his wife Melia has reported him missing.

At your stop, the police are waiting for you. A different passenger from the ferry claims they witnessed an argument between you and Kit the previous night, and you have an agenda for wanting him dead. Of course, you deny it and claim you and Kit are good friends. You expect Melia to defend you. Yet, you can’t help but wonder who this other passenger is, and what they know about your life and Kit’s life.

All you know is that despite any dangers you encountered last night, you are one-hundred percent innocent…right?

Why:

Candlish creates a Hitchcockian atmosphere in this gripping and seductive suspense. This novel is perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Christina McDonald and was also listed as one of CrimeReads’ Most Anticipated Crime Novels of 2021. Candlish’s book Our House won Crime and Thriller Book of the year in 2019 and The Other Passenger is just as great.