Womens Lit Summer

6 Amazing New Reads for Fans of Women’s Fiction

This summer, blockbuster books will be hitting newsstands and libraries at a constant rate. No genre may be on the verge of a more interesting summer than women’s fiction, though. There are tons of new books opening exciting doors into feminism, sexuality, power, and much more.

 

Here are six books fans of women’s fiction need to check out this summer.

 

1. The Answers by Catherine Lacey

 

The Answers

 

The Answers will come, but the questions are plentiful. Mary needs a life-saving drug treatment and needs to scour the dark web of Craigslist to afford it. The becomes part of an eccentric project for a man looking to build the perfect human relationship by having multiple girlfriends serve different roles. Lacey is an award winner and her latest novel promises to explore femininity in the face of disability and in the face of a male ego-driven world. [June 6]

 

2. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

 

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

 

The novel features the the sultry starlet Evelyn Hugo, ready to have her life story on paper after a successful career in acting. She solicits the help of Monique Grant, a journalist who doesn’t quite understand why this opportunity was handed to her. While interviewing her subject, Grant learns just as much about herself as Hugo. The novel explores womanhood, desire, and love. [June 13]

 

3. Our Little Racket by Angelica Baker

 

Our Little Racket

 

This debut novel is already getting some buzz in the literary world. When the 2008 financial crisis strikes, lives are changed around the world. In Greenwich, Connecticut the situation is no different. Five women – mothers and wives alike – take charge of their own situation, negotiating a world of intimacy and lies that changed in a matter of days. [June 20]

 

4. What We Lose by Zinzi Clemmons

 

What We Lose

 

Zinzi Clemmons’ first novel touches upon issues of intersectionality and womanhood. Thandi is a young woman trapped between the persistent binaries of a world that requires things to be black and white. When her mother is diagnosed with cancer, she begins to explore her mother’s homeland of South Africa, as well as the concepts of motherhood and grief. [July 11]

 

5. Sour Heart by Jenny Zhang

 

Sour Heart

 

Another debut novel, Sour Heart features the new voice of Jenny Zhang. In her fictional world – based in New York City but born in China/Taiwan – young women come to grips with their cultural past and future while dealing with their ethnicity and gender in the present. This book also has the distinction of being the first published under Lena Dunham’s new imprint, Lenny. [August 1]

 

6. The Burning Girl by Claire Messud

 

The Burning Girl

 

Unlike the other novelists on the list, Claire Messud takes a deep dive into the world of womanhood through the eyes of the adolescent. Julie and Cassie are lifelong friends who always seemed to be on the same path out of Royston, Massachusetts. Cassie makes a decision that forever alters their friendship, however, as the two learn to come of age in very different ways. [August 29]