Frozen 2 drawing

5 Fairy Tale Books To Read If You Loved ‘Frozen 2’

In case you have been living under a rock (or in an ice castle blocking out everyone, including the siren’s call), Frozen 2 is finally here and came out into theaters just the night before! (Don’t worry: I won’t spoil anything here if you haven’t seen the movie yet, but regardless, go out and see the movie if you want to be truly amazed. Or check out our review if/when you’ve seen Frozen 2 here!)

Anyway, as all of you Frozen fans know, the original movie was based off of Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tale called “The Snow Queen,” which would explain why I’m talking about a sequel of a Disney movie on a book-related pop culture site… Now, if you have read the story (as I have just last night before seeing the movie’s sequel), obviously there are major differences, while keeping some elements of the original story in the movie.

Well, I am here to give you a handful of recommends of other fairy tales or other classic magical stories to read if you enjoyed reading Andersen’s story or the Disney incarnation of said story!

 

 

 

 

1. Hans Christian Andersen’s Complete Fairy Tales

 

Hans Christian Anderson Fairy Tales book

Image via Amazon

 

Of course, it would make sense that if you liked the story by Andersen that inspired the movie, then you would want to crack into this book of all his stories. Other stories included within this hardcover copy of his tales are “The Ugly Duckling,” “The Princess and the Pea,” and “The Emperor’s New Clothes.”

In fact, I remembered coming across an extra big Barnes & Noble exclusive edition copy that mainly includes “The Snow Queen,” as well as “other winter tales,” so I went out of my way to get the very book and it is big, blue, and beautiful…

 

The Snow Queen Fairy Tale book

Image via Barnes & Noble

 

So, if you’re out at your fave Barnes & Noble and see either book of Andersen’s work, then “book” it! (Also, who else that his full name sounds an awful lot like Hans-Kristoff-Anna-Sven? I guess Elsa and Olaf’s names were just an added bonus to the main character roster!)

 

2. Beauty And The Beast And Other Classic Fairy Tales

 

Beauty and the Beast book

Image via Amazon

 

If Frozen is my second favorite Disney movie, then Beauty And The Beast will forever be my number one, and I think all of the book-nerds out there can agree with me on this! While this has the classic “tale as old as time,” originally written by Jeanne-Marie Leprince de Beaumont, at the forefront, this story collection also includes other classic fairy tales of romance.

So, if you’re a fan of Beauty And The Beast as much as I am, and you’re also in the mood for some old-timey romance stories to (in some way) help you out in the romance department, then this would be for you! (Also, it’s in a pretty pink cover. To pair with the blue “Snow Queen” book, I have both of my fave colors, blue and pink…)

 

3. Aesop’s Illustrated Fables

 

Aesop's Fables book

Image via Barnes & Noble

 

Heard of the classic fable of “The Tortoise and the Hare,” the one that taught us that “slow and steady wins the race,” as well as others just like it? Well now, you can get the whole collection of Aesop’s fables in this decorative hardbound copy! Unlike fairy tales, which can be very similar, fables usually aim to teach some kind of moral, typically to children. However, adults can find some use in returning to these stories, or possibly even reading them for the first time!

There’s a first time for everything I suppose… Or there’s nothing like a refresher “for the first time in forever”!

 

 

 

4. Celtic Tales: Fairy Tales and Stories of Enchantment from Ireland, Scotland, Brittany, and Wales

 

Celtic Tales book

Image via Chronicle Books

 

This story collection is all derived from the Celtic culture and according to Barnes & Noble, delves into themes of “Tricksters, The Sea, Quests, and Romance.” Stories in this collection include “Master and Man,” “The Soul Cages,” and “The Witch of Lok Island.”

So, if you know anyone who’s a folklore master, then have them dive into this one and get a feel for the Celts!

Now onto the most famous book of short stories of all… (And no, I don’t mean Rudolph.)

 

 

 

5. (Brothers) Grimm’s Complete Fairy Tales

 

Image Via Amazon

 

I’m sure you heard of the Grimm Brothers, right? Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm? Well, they were the masterminds behind the majority of Disney’s material: stories such as “Rapunzel” (Tangled), “Sleeping Beauty,” “Snow White,” “Cinderella,” and many more well-known stories like “Rumpelstiltskin” and “Tom Thumb.” So, of course, if you become very interested in Hans Christian Andersen’s works, then go check out the Grimm tales!

The copy shown here is the one that’s now available, but the one I have is a big green book with an oval picture on the front of Rapunzel who’s tangled (ha!) in her hair in her locked tower. Sadly, that copy was replaced with this dark blue copy, but the green one is so much prettier and so much woodsier, as pretty much all of Grimm’s tales tend to be…

 

Featured Image via YouTube

 


Bookstr is community supported. If you enjoy Bookstr’s articles, quizzes, graphics and videos, please join our Patreon to support our writers and creators or donate to our Paypal and help Bookstr to keep supporting the book loving community.
Become a Patron!