Home » Lists » 5 Books To Read If You Love ‘Winnie The Pooh’

5 Books To Read If You Love ‘Winnie The Pooh’

It’s A.A. Milne’s birthday today, so you know what that means: time to break out the Winnie The Pooh merch – movies and collectibles – all stashed in your honey tree! I know I’m getting out a few movies I remember seeing as a child, as well as some of the things I collected and am planning to give my own future child, including this B&N Collector’s Edition book…

 

The Complete Tales of Winnie the Pooh book cover

Image via Barnes & Noble

 

But while you get those out, crack open these other books that are sure to give you Winnie The Pooh feels!

 

 

1. The Tale of Peter Rabbit – Beatrix Potter

 

The Tale of Peter Rabbit book cover

Image via Amazon

 

Of course, this was the first thing I thought of when I was creating this list! You go from Christopher Robin’s imaginary world created from his stuffed animals to an imaginary world consisting of real-life rabbits, so… one can see a strong correlation.

 

2. Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland & Other Stories – Lewis Carroll

 

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland book cover

Image via Barnes & Noble

Speaking of other worlds (and rabbits), this surely had to follow as you can follow Alice again through the rabbit hole that takes her to this world that surely is out of this world! While we’re still on the subject, be sure to return to see…

 

 

3. The Wizard of Oz – L. Frank Baum

 

The Wizard of Oz first five novels book cover

Image via Barnes & Noble

 

…the wonderful wizard of Oz! Click your red sparkle shoes and travel with Dorothy and Toto (or perhaps within her mind?) to Oz and go off to see the wizard with her (possibly imaginary?) friends, Scarecrow, Tinman, and the Cowardly Lion…

 

4. Anne Of Green Gable – L.M. Montgomery

 

Anne of Green Gables book cover

Image via Barnes & Noble

 

This collection of books – no, not just book – tells the story of 11-year-old Anne Shirley’s adventures on her older siblings’ farm on Prince Edward Island. I would say that though I have not read any of these, I would think that they bear a slightly stronger resemblance to Charlotte’s Web and Oliver Twist just from going off of the plot summary, but she does live on a farm… with animals, so that’s good enough for this list!

And finally, I have saved the best for last…

 

 

5. The Boy, The Mole, The Fox, And The Horse – Charlie Mackesy

 

The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse book cover

 

During my time working as a Temporary Bookseller at my go-to Barnes & Noble, I was formally introduced to this book as – and I quote – the “Book of the Year” last year. The store had a whole table display for it and everything!

Since this was during the holiday season, we were told to advertise this book as the perfect gift-giver for all ages, and looking through some pages of the book myself, I would say that anyone who glances upon these beautifully crafted pages, written and drawn in calligraphy, would without a doubt have Winnie The Pooh vibes!

In short, this is a book simply about a boy who befriends – yep, you guessed them all – a mole, a fox, and a horse. Aside from the simplicity of the story, this book is filled with so much heart, as well as beautiful quotes to take to heart, especially for those who grew up either reading and/or watching Winnie The Pooh.

So, give these books a try when returning back to the Hundred Acre Wood!

 

Featured Image via Daily Express


Bookstr is community supported. If you enjoy Bookstr’s articles, quizzes, graphics and videos, please join our Patreon to support our writers and creators or donate to our Paypal and help Bookstr to keep supporting the book loving community.
Become a Patron!