2015 Independent Foreign Fiction Prize Longlist Announced

Ever wonder who’s translating your favorite foreign books? The Independent Foreign Fiction Prize, now in its 25th year, acknowledges book translators and book authors. Booktrust announced the prize’s longlist, which includes longlist alumni Murakami and Knausgaard and three debut authors: Stephanie de Velasco (Tiger Milk), Timur Vermes (Look Who’s Back), and Jung-Myung Lee (The Investigation). The £10,000 prize is split evenly between author and translator.

The longlist:

The Ravens by Tomas Bannerhed translated from the Swedish by Sarah Death  

The End of Days by Jenny Erpenbeck translated from the German by Susan Bernofsky 

Bloodlines by Marcello Fois translated from the Italian by Silvester Mazzarella 

In the Beginning Was the Sea by Tomás González translated from the Spanish by Frank Wynne 

The Dead Lake by Hamid Ismailov translated from the Russian by Andrew Bromfield

F by Daniel Kehlmann translated from the German by Carol Brown Janeway 

Boyhood Island by Karl Ove Knausgaard translated from the Norwegian by Don Bartlett

By Night the Mountain Burns by Juan Tomás Ávila Laurel translated from the Spanish by Jethro Soutar 

The Investigation by Jung-Myung Lee translated from the Korean by Chi-Young Kim 

While the Gods Were Sleeping by Erwin Mortier translated from the Dutch by Paul Vincent 

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami translated from the Japanese by Philip Gabriel 

The Giraffe’s Neck by Judith Schalansky translated from the German by Shaun Whiteside

Tiger Milk by Stefanie de Velasco translated from the German by Tim Mohr

Look Who’s Back by Timur Vermes translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch 

The Last Lover by Can Xue translated from the Chinese by Annelise Finegan Wasmoen