2015 Caldecott Medal Winner and Honorees

The 2015 Caldecott Medal Award honors the illustrators who make children’s picture books come alive on the page. Many of the previous winners have become household names, enduring the test of time. These winners include Make Way for Ducklings (Robert McCloskey, 1942), Where the Wild Things Are (Maurice Sendak, 1964), and The Polar Express (Chris Van Allsburg, 1986). This year’s winners include art from illustrators who use watercolors, abstract art, puppetry, photography, and other mediums to visualize the text of these books. Winners are selected by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA). The award winner and six honorees are listed below. Which of these books would you like to read?

2015 Medal Winner

The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend, written and illustrated by Dan Santat 

Courtesy of Hachette


2015 Honor Books

Nana in the City, written and illustrated by Lauren Castillo

Courtesy of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company                                                                                                                               

The Noisy Paint Box: The Colors and Sounds of Kandinsky’s Abstract Art, illustrated by Mary GrandPré

Courtesy of Random House


Sam & Dave Dig a Holeillustrated by Jon Klassen

Courtesy of Candlewick Press


Viva Frida, illustrated and written by Yuyi Morales

Courtesy of Macmillan


The Right Word: Roget and His Thesaurus illustrated by Melissa Sweet 

Courtesy of


This One Summer, illustrated by Jillian Tamaki

Courtesy of Macmillan