Category: Young Readers

Cast for Adaptation of ‘Heartstopper’ is Announced’!

Earlier this year, Netflix ordered an adaptation of the graphic novel series by Alice Oseman, Heartstopper, as an eight-part live-action series. And now, the casting has been announced!



Heartstopper is a coming of age graphic novel series that follows Charlie, a highly-strung, openly gay over-thinker, and Nick, a cheerful, soft-hearted rugby player. Charlie and Nick meet at a British all-boys grammar school and friendship blooms quickly. Soon Charlie is falling hard for Nick, even though he doesn’t think he has a chance. But love works in mysterious ways, and something good could be waiting just around the corner.

Heartstopper: Volume 1 by [Alice Oseman]
Image via Amazon
Kit Connor (‘His Dark Materials’) and Joe Locke have been cast as the two leads, following an audition process that saw over 10,000 people try-out for the adaptation.

William Gao, Yasmin Finney, Corinna Brown, Kizzy Edgell, Sebastian Croft, Cormac Hyde-Corrin, Tobie Donovan, Rhea Norwood have also been casted as the supporting characters.

The show has already begun filming, and though there’s still no official announcement as to when it will be released, we couldn’t be more excited for it!

Featured Image via Them

LaVar Burton To Guest Host ‘Jeopardy!’

Jeopardy! announced Wednesday that actor LaVar Burton, will serve as a guest host.

Since it was launched last year, almost a quarter of a million people signed the petition to have the Roots and Star Trek: The Next Generation actor host the over half a century year old game show. The star expressed his support of the campaign by tweeting a link, captioning it “Leaving this here in the event he powers that be are listening.”

Since the death of Alex Trebek, who was host of Jeopardy! since 1984, the game show has been hosted by a revolving door of guests, including but not limited to legendary contestant Ken Jennings, executive producer Mike Richards and celebrities such as television personality Dr. Oz, Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers and currently CNN news anchor Anderson.

A lifelong advocate of children’s literacy as host of the PBS show Reading Rainbow, LeVar Burton is seen by many as a beacon of education, and would be the most qualified to carry on Alex Trebek’s legacy, for the petition was to make him the next permanent host. Many of the comments under the post claim that Burton carries himself with the same dignified and respectful presence of Trebek but with the calm and friendly demeanor of Mr. Rodgers. While it doesn’t seem like Jeapordy! has any plans to position the actor as Trebek’s official successor, his fans have still expressed their delight on Twitter.

Burton will host the show from July 26th to July 30th after Good Morning America co-anchor Robin Roberts concludes her stint the 23rd.


featured image via because of them we can

Benny Safdie Casted for Adaptation of ‘Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret’

Benny Sadfie, actor and director known for Good Time (2017), Uncut Gems (2019), and Daddy Longlegs (2009) has been tapped by Lionsgate to star in Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret

Benny Safdie Joins Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret Movie
Image via Collider

Safdie will play Margaret’s father, Herb. Other cast members who have been previously announced to have joined the team are Abby Ryder Fortson (Ant-Man) who will be playing Margaret Simon, and Rachel McAdams was also tapped to play Margaret’s mother, Barbara. Katy Bates (Richard Jewell), will play Margaret’s grandmother Sylvia.

Rachel McAdams, Abby Ryder to Star in 'Are You There God It's Me Margaret' - Variety
Image via Variety

Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret, will be based on the novel of the same name by Judy Blume, a coming of age story about a sixth-grade girl (Margaret) who has grown up without a religious affiliation, due to her parents’ interfaith marriage. The book follows Margaret’s one-sided conversations with God in which she discusses not only the changes she’s going through, but her search for a religion that feels right.



Featured image via pAjiba