Warrior Girls Take the Boston Book Festival

Warrior Girls Take the Boston Book Festival

On October 19th, the Boston Book Festival commenced in Copley Square. Rows of tents housing local authors, publishers, and bookstores lined the square, bringing book lovers together on the beautiful Saturday afternoon. Right next door, at the Boston Public Library, several panels from authors and publishers were held all day. In one panel in particular, which they called Warrior Girls, held in the Teen Central section of the library, several authors tackled topics such as what makes their characters warriors, and the challenges they faced in regard to diversity in their books and making sure those stories are told. The …

I Am Excited About the YA National Book Award Finalists!

I Am Excited About the YA National Book Award Finalists!

Book Culture

On Tuesday, October 8th, the finalists for the National Book Award in Young People’s Literature were announced! Here are the five books that are influencing the minds of our youth!   Pet by Akweake Emezi     This story follows Jam, a transgender, selectively mute girl who lives in the fictional utopia of Lucille which claims itself to be post-bigotry and violence, and has supposedly eradicated all “monsters”. However, after Jam accidentally bleeds on her mother’s painting, the image of a horned creature with metallic feathers and metal claws comes to life, looking to defeat the human monster that threatens …

Rainbow Rowell’s ‘Wayward Son’: A Hero, After the Fact

Rainbow Rowell’s ‘Wayward Son’: A Hero, After the Fact

A year after Rainbow Rowell released her much beloved novel Carry On, the first book in the Simon Snow series, the second in the series, Wayward Son, has been published. Carry On received stellar reviews from audiences; some even claimed it to be comparable to the Harry Potter series. Last year, fans of the novel were left with a void in their hearts after finishing Carry On, but now that void, which can only be filled by more Simon and Baz interactions, can be filled… but not in the way audiences may expect. Rowell’s Wayward Son tells the story of …

A Close Look at the Cast of ‘Shadow and Bone’!

A Close Look at the Cast of ‘Shadow and Bone’!

This week brought a lot of excitement for fans of Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone and Six of Crows book series. It was announced a few months ago that Netflix had picked it up for an eight-episode series to be aired on the streaming site, produced by Eric Heisserer and directed by Lee Toland Krieger. On Tuesday, October 2nd, we reported that the cast list was finally released! So let’s take a closer look:     Ben Barnes as The Darkling     Barnes, who has previously appeared on Westworld and The Picture of Dorian Grey, among others, plays The …

Penguin to Publish Greta Thunberg Memoir and Speeches

Penguin to Publish Greta Thunberg Memoir and Speeches

In the never-ending battle against climate change, sixteen-year-old Greta Thunberg from Sweden has been one of the loudest voices calling for action. We’ve read the news stories, been moved by the speeches, and soon we’ll be able to hold a collection of those speeches in our hands. According to the Washington Post, earlier this month, Penguin Press announced that it had closed a two-book deal with Thunberg—one book of her speeches titled No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference, which has already been published in the UK in June, as well as a memoir.  Thunberg, who began her …