The Winds of Winter by George R. R. Martin

Two New Game of Thrones Books Coming to Shelves

For those who are still anxious about ‘The Book of Swords,’ set to release on October 10th of this year, there is good news. George R. R. Martin has announced that not one, but two new books could be released in 2018.


Cover of George R. R. Martin's book "Winds of Winter"


The new novel, ‘The Winds of Winter’ will be separated in two parts. From a livejournal post on the 22nd, Martin says “Whether ‘Winds’ or the first volume of ‘Fire and Blood’ will be the first to hit the bookstores is hard to say at this juncture, but I do think you will have a Westeros book from me in 2018… and who knows, maybe two. A boy can dream…”


In the post, he describes the book’s content having “fake history” of Targaryen kings. Because there is such an extensive past, the book will be published as two volumes. Martin has been working on the sixth (and seventh!) novel since 2011 when the most recent edition ‘A Dance With Dragons’ was published.


Comments and conspiracies of the books’ level of completion have spread around. Some fans would claim not even a page was written yet, and others thought the novel was finished and being held hostage by Martin, another way for him to torture his audience without murdering your favorite characters… yet.


In the meantime, impatient readers have the HBO series’ newest season available. There are already 2 episodes out, and will be airing weekly until August 27th.


Image courtesy of Fansided