The Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award Shortlist Announced

Cover Compilation

Two debut authors, Phil Klay (Redeployment) and Colin Barrett (Young Skins), have been announced alongside “masters of the short form” Lorrie Moore (Bark) and A.L. Kennedy (All the Rage) in this year’s Frank O’Connor Prize shortlist. Ben Marcus (Leaving the Sea) and Laura van den Berg (The Isle of Youth) also feature. The prestigious international short story award is the single biggest prize in the world for a collection of short stories.

Young Skins

In Colin Barrett’s debut collection Young Skins, each story is defined by a youth lived in a crucible of menace and desire. The reader is transported to Glanbeigh (and beyond), a small town in rural Ireland where the youth have the run of the place.

The women and men in A.L. Kennedy’s dozen stories in her collection All the Rage search for love, solace, and a clear glimpse of what their lives have become. Teeming with with memory, humor, and longing, this is A.L. Kennedy at her inimitable best.


Written with a hard-eyed realism and incredible emotional depth, Phil Klay’s debut Redeployment takes readers to the frontlines of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, asking us to understand what happened there, and what happened to the soldiers who returned.

As the Ben Marcus’s collection Leaving the Sea progresses, he transitions from more traditional narratives into the experimental work that has branded him a groundbreaking master of the short form.

Bark Lorrie Moore

A new collection of stories by Lorrie Moore, one of America’s most beloved and admired short-story writers, and her first in 15 years, the eight stories featured in Bark demonstrate Moore’s hallmark ability to mesh tragedy with hilarity.

Winner of the 2014 American Academy of Arts and Letters Rosenthal Family Foundation Award, Laura van den Berg’s collection, The Isle of Youth, explores the lives of women mired in secrecy and deception.

Which collection do you feel deserves to win the presitgious Frank O’Connor Prize?