The 2014 Miles Franklin Literary Award Winners


By Simon McDonald, Editorial Manager |

Australia’s most prestigious literary award is presented each year to a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.

The Longlist

Miles Franklin - Longlist2014’s longlist included two debut novelists and two past winners: Tracy Farr [The Life And Loves Of Lena Guant], Richard Flanagan [The Narrow Road to the Deep North], Ashley Hay  [The Railwayman’s Wife], Melissa Lucashenko [Mullumbimby], Fiona McFarlane [The Night Guest], Nicolas Rothwell [Belomor], Trevor Shearston [Game], Cory Taylor [My Beautiful Enemy], Tim Winton [Eyrie], Alexis Wright [The Swan Book] and Evie Wyld [All The Birds, Singing].

The Shortlist

Miles Franklin - ShortlistThe shortlist of 6 titles was announced in May, which featured The Narrow Road to the Deep North, The Night Guest, My Beautiful Enemy, EyrieThe Swan Book and All The Birds, Singing.

The Winner

All the Birds SingingLast night, Evie Wyld’s novel, All the Birds, Singing, was announced as the 2014 Miles Franklin Award winner. An insightful and emotionally powerful novel about an outsider haunted by an inescapable past, it is a story of loneliness and survival, guilt and loss, and the power of forgiveness.

Richard Neville commented on behalf of the judging panel, describing  the novel as being both “visceral and powerfully measured in tone”. If you’ve read All the Birds, Singing we’d love to know what you think.