alex rider

Teen Spy Series ‘Alex Rider’ to Become TV Show

Oscar-nominated director Andreas Prochaska of Das Boots has received the green light to direct the first four episodes of the upcoming Alex Rider television series. Variety reports that the eight episode series will be produced by Sony.

 

Based on the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz, the latest adaptation of the book follows the 2006 film, Alex Rider: Stormbreaker. The twelfth book is to be released mid-2019.

 

stormy

Image via Amazon UK

 

The book series has sold over 19 million copies and is still hugely popular among the Young Adult demographic.

 

Deadline released that the screenwriter of The Borgias and The Hole, Guy Burt, will adapt the book and it will “begin with Point Blanc, the second book in the series.” Rumor has it that casting will begin towards the end of the year.  The executive producer, Eve Gutierrez said “We are delighted to be working with visionary director Andreas Prochaska. Andreas’ work whether for the big or small screen is always underpinned by thrilling, emotional experiences making him the perfect choice for Alex Rider.”

 

The coming of age spy-tale opens the door numerous of fans to get invested into a new teen thriller. This might be the next new show for fans of Riverdale, Pretty Little Liars and The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.

 

 

 

Featured Image via Geek Town