Shortlists Revealed for Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Childrens Book Awards

The organizers of the CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Book Awards have revealed the shortlists for the two prizes. The Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals are the two most prestigious children’s book awards in the UK, and several authors have a chance to score a literary hat trick.


The pair of prizes recognizes greatness in children’s and young adult literature. The Carnegie Medal is awarded for the best book, while the Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded for excellence in illustration.

Patrick Ness is up for the Carnegie Medal for his novel The Rest of Us Just Live Here. If he wins, he’ll become the first author in history to win the prize three times. Illustrators Anthony Browne, Helen Oxenbury, and Chris Riddell are each in the running to win their third Kate Greenaway Medal.


Other notable books on the shortlists include Frances Hardinge’s The Lie Tree, which won the Costa Book Award earlier this year. The final winners of the two awards will be announced on June 20. Each winner will receive £500 (over $700) worth of books to donate to their local library.


CILIP Carnegie Medal Shortlist

One by Sarah Crossan

The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge

There Will Be Lies by Nick Lake

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Five Children on the Western Front by Kate Saunders

The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley

Fire Colour One by Jenny Valentine


CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal Shortlist

Willy’s Stories by Anthony Browne

There’s a Bear on My Chair by Ross Collins

Once Upon an Alphabet by Oliver Jeffers

Sam & Dave Dig a Hole by Mac Barnett, illustrated by Jon Klassen

Something About a Bear by Jackie Morris

Captain Jack and the Pirates by Peter Bently, illustrated by Helen Oxenbury

The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman, illustrated by Chris Riddell

Footpath Flowers by Jon Arno Lawson, illustrated by Sydney Smith


Main image: