Percy Jackson Returns in New Book Series by Rick Riordan

Fans of Percy Jackson and the Greek-mythological characters that populate author Rick Riordan’s body of work have some very exciting new work to look forward to. During his Sword of Summer book tour, Riordan announced that his next project will be a five-part series set in the same world he created around his eponymous hero, Percy Jackson.

The first book in the series, The Hidden Oracle, will be released on May 3, 2016, and it will follow Apollo, who, after angering Zeus, is transformed into a 16-year old boy and dropped in a New York City dumpster. While the premise certainly seems enticing, perhaps what will most lure fans is that Percy Jackson, Leo, Nico, and Annabeth will all make appearances in the new series.  

Though the series may not be considered a true sequel, it is a continuation set in the same world and will therefore be able to offer glimpsed updates on where characters from the first series have ended up since readers last saw them.

One staple of the Percy Jackson series was the clever, often funny chapter titles. For the new series, Riordan will take full advantage of Apollo’s reputation as the God of bad poetry and will use haikus, presumably bad haikus, to introduce each chapter. 

2016 promises to be a big year for Riordan and his fans. Not only is the new series set to debut, but a collection of crossover short stories, Demigods and Magicians, featuring Percy, Annabeth, Sadie, and Carter will be released on April 5, and the second book in the Magnus Chase series, The Hammer of Thor, will be released on October 4.


Featured image courtesy of