Nora Roberts’/J.D. Robb’s Fiftieth ‘In Death’ Novel to Hit Shelves

International bestselling author Nora Roberts’ pseudonym J.D. Robb’s In Death series has been going strong since 1995, and right now the book number fifty is coming out soon.


Books 1-30 of the In Death Series

Image Via Amazon

Back in 1995, the year 2058 seemed far off and author Nora Roberts, writing as J.D. Robb, took advantage fo this fact, setting her murder mystery novel Naked in Death in this distant time. It follows tough, damaged cop Lieutenant Eve Dallas, as she investigates the main suspect in the death of a high-profile sex worker, the enigmatic Irish businessman, Roarke.


First 12 books of the In Death Series

Image Via AbeBooks

Initially planned as a trilogy, the third book Immortal in Death was published in July of 1996. And that was that.

Until it wasn’t, and in October of that same year Rapture in Death was published. The series was a New York Times bestselling powerhouse, so why stop?

Even crazier is that it wasn’t until 2001, the same year the fifteenth book in the series, Seduction in Death, was published that the Robb’s identity was revealed.  The reveal must have been shocking, since Nora Roberts had already made a name for herself as a romance writer.

Today Nora Roberts is still going strong with the series. Explaining why it’s run so long, she told Entertainment Weekly in an exclusive

“By the time the third book went to press, I didn’t want to let go, to say goodbye to these people or their world. When my publisher expressed an interest in more, I jumped at the chance.”


Golden in Death

Image Via Entertainment Weekly


Right now Entertainment Weekly reports that on February 4th, 2020, the fiftieth book in the series, Golden in Death, will hit the shelves.

Repeat, book fifty of the In Death series is coming.

Who’s read the other forty-nine books? I’ve read…one of them. It was great.


Featured Image Via NPR