NBA for Fiction Longlist Revealed

The longlist nominees for all the 2016 National Book Awards (YA, poetry, and non-fiction), have slowly been revealed. We’re bringing you the longlist for the NBA in fiction, which includes the groundbreaking The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead and the quirky, heart-warming The Portable Veblen by Elizabeth Mckenzie. Out of the ten contenders, eight have never been in the running for the NBA in fiction before. 

Last year’s winner of the National Book Award for Fiction (2015) was Adam Johnson, for his short story collection, Fortune Smiles. In their press release, the NBA announced that this year’s longlist includes:

…a former National Book Award Winner for Young People’s Literature and two titles by former National Book Award Finalists for Fiction. The list also includes three Pulitzer Prize finalists. One title is currently shortlisted for the 2016 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction and another was recently selected for Oprah’s Book Club. There is one debut novel on the list.

Here’s the complete 2016 National Book Award for Fiction longlist:

Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

Sweet Lamb of Heaven by Lydia Millet

What Belongs to You by Garth Greenwell

Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

The Portable Veblen by Elizabeth McKenzie

Imagine Me Gone by Adam Haslett

The Throwback Special by Chris Bachelder

Miss Jane by Brad Watson

News of the World by Paulette Jiles

The Association of Small Bombs by Karan Mahajan

The shortlist will be revealed on October 13th. Winners will be announced at a ceremony and benefit dinner in New york on November 13th. 

 Featured image courtesy of