National Book Critics Circle Award Winners Announced

The National Book Critics Circle has announced the winners of this year’s National Book Critics Circle Awards. Winners include poet Ross Gay and memoirist Margo Jefferson. Check out the full list of winners below!

Jefferson’s Negroland was perhaps the most notable winner of the night. Jefferson’s memoir of growing up in a wealthy African-American neighborhood has drawn widespread acclaim. Poet Ross Gay is also having a great year. Prior to winning the National Book Critics Circle Award, his Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude had already earned him the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Prize and made him a finalist for a National Book Award and an NAACP Image Award.

Paul Beatty won in the fiction category for his novel The Sellout, a satirical novel about slavery and segregation. Maggie Nelson took home the Criticism award for her hybrid criticism-memoir book The Argonauts, which examines her relationship with a transgender person.

The full list of winners is below.


2015 National Book Critics Circle Award Winners



Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude by Ross Gay




The Argonauts by Maggie Nelson




Negroland by Margo Jefferson




Romantic Outlaws: The Extraordinary Lives of Mary Wollstonecraft and Her Daughter Mary Shelley by Charlotte Gordon




Dreamland: The True Story of America’s Opiate Epidemic by Sam Quinones




The Sellout by Paul Beatty



The John Leonard Prize

Night at the Fiestas by Kirstin Valdez Quade



The Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing

Carlos Lozada


The Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award

Wendell Berry