Margaret Atwood Lands Booker Prize Longlist

Margaret Atwood received a nomination for the 2019 Booker Prize for ‘Handmaid’s Tale’ sequel ‘The Testaments,’ out September 10.

Adaptations Book Culture Classics Fantasy Historical Fiction Literary Fiction On Writing

Handmaid’s Tale author Margaret Atwood was just nominated for the 2019 Booker Prize alongside successful contemporaries like Salman Rushdie. She was not nominated for her sensational 1985 dystopian novel — now adapted as an award-winning show on Hulu — but its soon-to-be-released sequel.

You heard that right. The Testaments, the long-awaited sequel to Atwood’s beloved Handmaid’s Tale, has not even been published yet but is already in consideration for the £50,000 literary prize. Deciding jurors selected this year’s longlist of thirteen English-language titles from a competitive pool of 151 novels, according to The Guardian.

Published thirty-four years after its predecessor but set fifteen years after the conclusion of the first novel, The Testaments follows the narratives of three women from Gilead. Atwood promised in a personal statement that readers’ questions — the big ones, at least — would be answered in the sequel. Otherwise, the author is enforcing a strict ban on spoilers until readers everywhere can get their hands on the book on September 10th.


According to The Guardian, the complete longlist for the 2019 Booker Prize includes the following names and titles:


  • The Testaments by Margaret Atwood (Vintage, Chatto & Windus)
  • Night Boat to Tangier by Kevin Barry (Canongate Books)
  • My Sister, The Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite (Atlantic Books)
  • Ducks, Newburyport by Lucy Ellmann (Galley Beggar Press)
  • Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo (Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Wall by John Lanchester (Faber & Faber)
  • The Man Who Saw Everything by Deborah Levy (Hamish Hamilton)
  • Lost Children Archive by Valeria Luiselli (4th Estate)
  • An Orchestra of Minorities by Chigozie Obioma (Little Brown)
  • Lanny by Max Porter (Faber & Faber)
  • Quichotte by Salman Rushdie (Jonathan Cape)
  • 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World by Elif Shafak (Viking)
  • Frankissstein by Jeanette Winterson (Jonathan Cape)


Atwood previously won the Booker Prize in 2000 for her standalone novel The Blind Assassin. Rushdie won the prize in 1981 for Midnight’s Children.

Click here for Bookstr’s previous coverage on The Testaments.



Featured Image Via The Guardian.