Man Booker Prize Short List is Here

The Man Booker Prize is considered one of “the most prestigious literary honors in the world.” There are two prizes, the Man Booker Prize for Fiction and the Man Booker International Prize, which underscore “Man Group’s charitable focus on literacy and education as well as the firm’s commitment to excellence and entrepreneurship.” 

Han Kang’s The Vegetarian, translated by Deborah Smith, received the 2016 Man Booker Prize. The book was first published in Korean only, in 2007. Nine years later, it received the first ever Man Booker International Prize, boosting the novel’s sales and Kang’s popularity world-wide.

The shortlist for the Man Booker Prize for Fiction was announced today, including authors from Canada, the Unites States, Britain, Scotland, and South Africa. Books must have been initially published in English and in Britain. Previous to 2014, submissions were only open to writers from Britain, Ireland and the Commonwealth of Zimbabwe.

Last year, Jamaican writer, Marlon James, took home the prize for A Brief History in Seven Killings. Winners receive £50,000 (about $66,400) along with the prize.

Here’s this year’s complete shortlist:

The Sellout by Paul Beatty


Hot Milk by Deborah Levy


His Bloody Project by Graeme Macrae Burnet


Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh


All That Man Is by David Szalay


Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien


Look out for the winner, to be announced October 25th.