Longlist Released for 2015 National Book Award for Poetry

The longlist of nominees for the National Book Award for Poetry have been released by the National Book Foundation. The nominees include two previous award winners, Terrance Hayes and Marilyn Hacker; the latter won forty years ago. The list also features Robin Coste Lewis, a debut poet. The nominees are:    

Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude by Ross Gay 

Scattered at Sea by Amy Gerstler

A Stranger’s Mirror: New and Selected Poems,1994-2014 by Marilyn Hacker

How to Be Drawn by Terrance Hayes 

The Beauty by Jane Hirshfield 


Voyage of the Sable Venus by Robin Coste Lewis  

Bright Dead Things by Ada Limón  

Elegy for a Broken Machine by Patrick Phillips 

Heaven by Rowan Ricardo Phillips 

Mistaking Each Other for Ghosts by Lawrence Raab

Established poets have been set as the judges, which will include: Sherman Alexie, Willie Perdomo, Kartha Pollitt, Tim Seibles, and Jan Weissmiller. The short list for the final nominees will be released on October 14, and the winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on November 18. The long lists of nominees in Young People’s Literature was released on September 14. Keep your eyes peeled for the longlist in nonfiction and fiction, to be released later this week.  

Featured image courtesy of the National Book Foundation.