Longlist Announced for 2016 Stella Prize

Twelve women are now left in the running for the Stella Prize, Australia’s top women’s literary prize. Among the major authors on the longlist are Gail JonesCharlotte Wood, and Elizabeth Harrower. The list also includes a couple of debut authors, Alice Robinson and Fiona Wright.

The Stella Prize is awarded for the best writing by an Australian woman (all genres are eligible). Last year’s winner was Emily Bitto, who took home the prize for her novel The Strays. This year’s longlist will be whittled down to a shortlist on March 10, and a single winner will be announced on April 19 at a ceremony in Sydney, Australia.

Check out the complete list below!


The Women’s Pages by Debra Adelaide




 The Other Side of the World by Stephanie Bishop



Panthers and the Museum of Fire by Jen Craig 



 Six Bedrooms by Tegan Bennett Daylight



Hope Farm by Peggy Frew 



 A Few Days in the Country: And Other Stories by Elizabeth Harrower



A Guide to Berlin by Gail Jones



 The World Without Us by Mireille Juchau



 A Short History of Richard Kline by Amanda Lohrey



Anchor Point by Alice Robinson



The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood



 Small Acts of Disappearance: Essays on Hunger by Fiona Wright


Featured image courtesy of Stella Prize