Kate Atkinson Wins Costa Novel Award for Third Time

The winners of the 2015 Costa Book Awards have been announced, and the list includes at least one familiar name. Kate Atkinson triumphed in the novel category, the second time in three years that she has done so.

Atkinson won for her novel A God in Ruins, which the judges said was “in a class of its own.” The author previously won the Costa award in 1995 (for Behind the Scenes at the Museum) and in 2013 (for Life After Life).

Two other novelists took home Costa Awards as well: Frances Hardinge won the children’s book category for her novel The Lie Tree, and Andrew Michael Hurley won the first novel category for The Loney.

The Costa Awards celebrate the “most enjoyable books” of the year. The category winners also serve as the shortlist for the ultimate prize, the 2015 Costa Book of the Year. That final award will be announced on January 26 in London. On that same day the short story prize winner will be announced. You can vote for your favorite short story on the Costa Awards website.

Check out the full list of category winners below!



A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson


First Novel

The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley



The Invention of Nature by Andrea Wulf



40 Sonnets by Don Paterson


Children’s Book

The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge