Like Jack Reacher? Try these out!

If You Love Jack Reacher You Might Enjoy…

While most fictional crime fighters stick to their home turf, Jack Reacher, the former military police officer turned do-gooder, travels America by hitchhiking. He enters a new town a stranger and leaves a hero. So it has gone for 19 novels now.

In Lee Child’s latest thriller, Personal, Reacher is tasked by the State Department and the CIA for a high-priority missions: there is going to be an assassination attempt at G-8 summit, and only Reacher can stop the killer.

 

Lee Child - Personal covers

 

There aren’t many characters like Jack Reacher; nomadic drifters, who wander into trouble. Most crime-fighters are cops, or secret agents, who dedicate their lives to finding and extinguishing  evil – but we’ve put together a list of similar books starring heroes with similarities to Child’s iconic action here.

 

So when you’re done with Reacher, why not try:

Matthew Scudder, from A Walk Among the Tombstones

A Walk Among the Tombstones

Scudder is an alcoholic ex-cop who earns his living as an unlicensed private investigator, or as he puts it, “doing favors for friends.” In A Walk Among the Tombstones, Scudder investigates the motives of a very unusual kidnapping case undertaken by a pair of ruthlessly sadistic psycopaths whose cruel games have only just begun. The book is also soon to be a major Hollywood movie, starring Liam Neeson, Dan Stevens and Ruth Wilson.

 

Nick Stone, from Remote Control

Remote Control

Ex-SAS serviceman turned deniable operative, Nick Stone has taken part in missions for “The Firm” as well as personal quests in a variety of locales including Bosnia, Iraq, The Congo, Ireland, Afghanistan, and more. To date, he has starred in 15 novels. 

 

Charlie Hardie, from Fun & Games

Fun and Games

In the Charlie Hardie series, an ex-cop from Philadelphia who now works as a high-end house-sitter, goes mano a mano with ‘The Accident People.’

 

Atticus Kodiak, from Keeper

Keeper

When we’re first introduced to Atticus Kodiak, he’s a professional bodyguard based in Manhattan. But over the course of the seven-books-long series, Kodiak’s career takes a dramatic turn. In the latest novel, Walking Dead, Kodiak is an international fugitive! How did things get this way? You’ll have to read the series to find out, starting with Keeper, in which Kodiak must protect a woman and her daughter from a killer with a fanatic agenda.

 

Dan ‘Spider’ Shepherd, from Hard Landing

Hard Landing

Dan ‘Spider’ Shepherd is no ordinary cop; he is a member of an elite undercover squad. And in Hard Landing, Shepherd faces his most dangerous assignment yet: going undercover in a top security prison, where one wrong move will mean certain death!

 

Jed Walker, from The Spy

The Spy

A sinister group, code-named “Zodiac,” has launched devastating global attacks: 12 targets across the world, 12 code-named missions. Operating distinct sleeper cells, they are the ultimate terrorist organisation, watching and waiting for a precise attack to activate the next group. It is a frightening and deadly efficient way to stay one step ahead and cause the most chaos. For ex-CIA operative Jed Walker, chaos is his profession. On the outer, burned by his former agency, he is determined to clear his name, and stopping Zodiac is the only way.

 

Featured Image a courtesy of Random House